The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Kate's Story (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 2)

A heartrending tale of northern family life

Kate's Story (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 2) by Billy Hopkins
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

One woman's battles in family, war and tragedy...

Kate's Story is one of Billy Hopkins' most heart-warming works to date, and charts the story of his mother Kate, and her determined, spirited battle to rise above the slums and the workhouse, and build a better life for herself and her family. Perfect for fans of Harry Bowling and Sheila Newberry.

'Author Billy Hopkins... [infuses] the pages with his trademark warmth, laughter and triumph over adversity' - Cheshire Life

'Dad, it's the happiest day of my life,' Kate said. 'I wish time would stand still and it could be today forever.' It's June 1897, and Kate is celebrating her eleventh birthday on the day of Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee. Kate's joy is short-lived, as tragedy strikes, threatening her family with the loss of all they hold dear. Before long they are evicted from their home in Ancoats, Manchester, and with no wages coming in and a mother unable to cope, Kate has to grow up fast. Her deepest desire is to keep her brothers and sisters together. A journey of hope and heartache takes Kate from the hardships of the workhouse to the dubious comforts of a position in service to the rich; from the joys of marriage to a good man, to the sorrows and losses suffered during the Great War.

What readers are saying about Kate's Story:

'Another masterpiece - couldn't put it down'

'Billy Hopkins leads the reader into the very heart of the family where we laugh, cry and hope all at the same time'

'I honestly and truly believe this book to be Billy Hopkins' abiding masterpiece'

Headline; February 2010
ISBN 9780755372331
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Kate's Story (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 2)
Author: Billy Hopkins
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755372331

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...