The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

High Hopes (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 4)

An irresistible tale of northern life in the 1940s

High Hopes (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 4) by Billy Hopkins
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

How will Billy fare with a rowdy bunch of school kids?

Billy Hopkins' delightful novel, High Hopes, is based on his own experiences as a young teacher in Manchester in the aftermath of the Second World War in the 1940s. A must-read for fans of Sheila Newberry and Kate Thompson.

'A heart-warming follow up to Our Kid' - Books Magazine

It's September 1945 and Billy Hopkins is off to London to train as a teacher, with only ten bob in his pocket. Despite his dad's gloomy warnings that he'll pick up bad ways from the toffs down South, Billy survives two years in the Big City, and returns to take up his first teaching job in Manchester - on £300 a year!

The catch is his first class, Senior Four, who bitterly resent the raising of the school leaving age, and are all set to take it out on their teacher. Luckily the kid from Collyhurst has some tricks up his sleeve.

And then Billy meets the beautiful Laura. But is she, as his dad says, 'too good for the likes of us'?

What readers are saying about High Hopes:

'A moving and hilarious read... one of the best books I've read in ages'

'This book is full of charm, old style values, old style humour and it is written with warmth'

'If you want to read a book with a 200% feel good factor this is it. Tears, laughter and brilliantly written'

Headline; February 2010
ISBN 9780755372324
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: High Hopes (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 4)
Author: Billy Hopkins
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755372324

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...