The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Katie's Kitchen

A compelling saga of betrayal and a mother's love

Katie's Kitchen by Dee Williams
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

As the Great War looms, can a young woman hope to build a new life?

Dee Williams writes an engrossing saga in Katie's Kitchen - the story of a young mother's escape from the past, only to be threatened by the horror of the First World War. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Annie Murray.

'A gem, a warm and compulsive read' - Coventry Evening Telegraph

When her friend and business partner Edwin Brown dies it seems as if Katherine Carter's own world has ended. Not only has her closest companion been taken from her, she's also lost the successful restaurant they built up together, as well as the comfortable home they shared with her young son. Now all this has been snatched away, for Edwin has left no will and his lecherous brother Gerald presumes he's inherited Katherine along with the house.

With little money but full of determination, Katherine escapes Gerald's violent advances and takes lodgings in Rotherhithe, with her cook's sister, Milly. Despite its poverty, Docklands London is full of hope and friendship and, in helping her new neighbours through their difficulties, Katherine finally begins to tackle her troubled past. But even as she rebuilds her life around the pie-and-mash shop where she works, a terrible shadow is hanging over the country. And little does anyone know the horrors 1914 will unleash...

What readers are saying about Katie's Kitchen:

'Brilliant storyline - kept me up late wanting to know what happens next'

'This book is brilliant. Gives you a great insight into war in everyday lives - a great story line and great characters. A must read'

'Five stars'

Headline; January 2010
ISBN 9780755373017
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Katie's Kitchen
Author: Dee Williams
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755373017

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...