No Other Darkness

A Detective Inspector Marnie Rome Mystery

by

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780143126195
  • 9780698151161
“The DI Marnie Rome series [is] one to watch.” —Shelf Awareness

The gripping follow-up to Sarah Hilary’s acclaimed debut Someone Else’s Skin, No Other Darkness finds mystery’s “impressive new cop-heroine” (The Times, London) on a case that hauntingly echoes her own family tragedy. Detective InspectorMarnie Rome and her partner Detective Sergeant Noah Jake are investigating the recent discovery of two dead boys in a bunker beneath a London garden. Terry and Beth, under whose garden the bodies were discovered, have two children of their own, and are also fostering a difficult boy named Clancy. Clancy reminds Marnie of her foster brother Stephen, who murdered her parents. Is Marnie’s past blinding her to the truth? Only one thing is certain: when Terry and Beth’s biological children vanish, Marnie can’t waste a moment finding them.


From the Trade Paperback edition.
  • Penguin Publishing Group; August 2015
  • ISBN 9780698151161
  • Read online, or download in secure EPUB format
  • Title: No Other Darkness
  • Author: Sarah Hilary
  • Imprint: Penguin Books
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780143126195
  • 9780698151161

In The Press

Praise for No Other Darkness

“Both victims and villains abound in Hilary’s searing, intricately plotted police procedural” – Publisher’s Weekly (starred review)

“Last year, Sarah Hilary’s Someone Else’s Skin was acclaimed a superb debut. It was no fluke. No Other Darkness is just as excellent, and DI Marnie Rome is a three-dimensional character of an emotional depth rarely encountered in the world of fictional cops.” – The Times (London)

“At the center is a queasily equivocal moral tone that forces the reader into a constant rejigging of their attitude to the characters. And did I mention the plotting? Hilary’s ace in the hole – as it is in the best crime thrillers.” – The Financial Times

“Unnerving and compelling.” – The Lady

“Riveting . . . Sarah Hilary delivers in this enthralling tale of a haunted detective, terrible crime, and the secrets all of us try to keep” – Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author 


Praise for Someone Else’s Skin
 
“Fans of Val McDermid and Ian Rankin will love this tremendous debut. Someone Else’s Skin puts Sarah Hilary and DI Marnie Rome squarely on the map. A gripping, disturbing examination of domestic violence with gravitas in spades, this book haunts you well after its finish.” – Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of Through Evil Days
 
“A truly engrossing read from an exceptional new talent. Hilary writes with a beguiling immediacy that pulls you straight into her world on the first page and leaves you bereft when you finish. Intelligent, emotional and totally unexpected in terms of where it goes. I truly loved this book” – Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls
 
“It’s the best crime debut I've ever read and deserves to be MASSIVE” – Erin Kelly, author of The Poison Tree
 
“If this first entry is anything to go by, Hilary's sense of plot and subtle character building will make the DI Marnie Rome series one to watch.” – ShelfAwareness 
 
“Gripping and full of graphic details about the lives and psychology of her characters, both abusers and their victims. You might be surprised at the end to learn which is which.” – Mystery Scene
  
“A tense, deep and dramatic tale of domestic violence.” – The Independent (London)
 
“An intelligent, assured and very promising debut” – The Guardian (London)
 
“What an entry on to the thriller scene Hilary has made with Someone Else’s Skin. She writes deftly, unobtrusively, subtly drawing her readers in… it’s the story that really drives this novel, though, and this is a corker: twisty, tricksy and, on occasion, seriously scary. This is an extraordinarily good debut.” – The Observer (London)


From the Trade Paperback edition.

About The Author

SARAH HILARY lives with her daughter in Bath, England, where she writes quirky copy for a well-loved travel publisher.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780143126195
  • 9780698151161