The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,410,490 members ⚫ 1,532,108 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Among the Ten Thousand Things

A Novel

Among the Ten Thousand Things by Julia Pierpont
Buy this eBook
US$ 7.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • Features an exclusive conversation between Julia Pierpont and Lena Dunham

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.


Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn’t mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack’s secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it’s delivered into the wrong hands: her children’s.

With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can’t possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life—their brittleness, and their resilience.

Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things

“A luscious, smart summer novel . . . by a blazingly talented young author.”The New York Times Book Review
 
“This book is one of the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I’ve read in a long time.”—Jonathan Safran Foer
 
“Obsessively compelling . . . emotionally sophisticated . . . Among the Ten Thousand Things rises above [other novels] for its imagined structure, sentence-by-sentence punch, and pure humanity.”Vanity Fair
 
“Gripping . . . Pierpont brings this family of four to life in sharply observed detail. . . . An acute observer of social comedy, Ms. Pierpont has a keen eye for the absurd.”The Wall Street Journal
 
“Pierpont’s language is heart-stopping. . . . Between Pierpont’s literary finesse and her captivating characters, [Among the Ten Thousand Things] reads like a page-turner.”Entertainment Weekly (grade: A)
 
“A twisty, gripping story—that packs an emotional wallop.”O: The Oprah Magazine

“There are going to be as many ingenious twists and turns in this literary novel as there are in a top-notch work of suspense like Gone Girl.”—Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air

“Tender, delicately perceptive . . . Pierpont’s voice is wry and confident, and she is a fine anthropologist of New York life.”The Washington Post

“Pierpont displays a precocious gift for language and observation. . . . She captures the minutiae of loneliness that pushes us away from each other and sometimes brings us back.”San Francisco Chronicle


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Random House Publishing Group; July 2015
336 pages; ISBN 9780812995237
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things
Author: Julia Pierpont
 
  • News
Topography of a novel: Julia Pierpont on how she wrote Among the Ten Thousand Things - The Guardian
Sat, 12 Mar 2016 03:01:43 -0800
The GuardianTopography of a novel: Julia Pierpont on how she wrote Among the Ten Thousand ThingsThe GuardianEvery book has its ...
How Julia Pierpont's Debut Novel Sold for Six Figures Before She Graduated - Vanity Fair
Mon, 06 Jul 2015 04:45:05 -0700
Vanity FairHow Julia Pierpont's Debut Novel Sold for Six Figures Before She GraduatedVanity FairAlthough Julia ...
Book review: 'Among the Ten Thousand Things' by Julia Pierpont - Florida Times-Union
Sat, 25 Jul 2015 08:50:05 -0700
Book review: 'Among the Ten Thousand Things' by Julia PierpontFlorida Times-UnionThat's how young debut novelist ...
More Fiction
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780812985344
9780812995237