Boar Island (Anna Pigeon Mysteries, Book 19)

A suspenseful mystery of the American wilderness

by

Boar Island (Anna Pigeon Mysteries, Book 19): A suspenseful mystery of the American wilderness
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781472202291
  • 9781472202307

They are not alone...

Nevada Barr's nineteenth Anna Pigeon mystery, Boar Island, is a gripping novel that transports you to the wild and dangerous landscape of Acadia National Park. Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Paul Doiron.

'Gripping... harrowing... a moving, suspenseful, fast-paced novel... shimmering with vibrant life and originality' - Cleveland Plain Dealer

Anna Pigeon, in her career as a National Park Service Ranger, has had to deal with all manner of crimes and misdemeanours, but cyber-bulling and stalking is a new one. The target is Elizabeth, the adopted teenage daughter of her friend Heath Jarrod. Elizabeth is driven to despair by the disgusting rumours spreading online and bullying texts. Until, one day, Heath finds her daughter Elizabeth in the midst of an unsuccessful suicide attempt. And then she calls in the cavalry - her aunt Gwen and her friend Anna Pigeon.

The three adults decide the best thing to do is to remove Elizabeth from the situation and, since Anna is about to start her new post as Acting Chief Ranger at Acadia National Park in Maine, they join her and stay at a house on the cliff of a small island near the park, Boar Island.

But the move doesn't solve the problem. The stalker has followed them. And Heath (a paraplegic) and Elizabeth aren't alone on the otherwise deserted island. At the same time, Anna has barely arrived at Acadia before a brutal murder is committed by a killer uncomfortably close to her...

What readers are saying about Boar Island:

'Ms. Barr's amazing writing and character development sucked me in and I went on the most amazing adventure'

'An exciting, twisting novel'

'[I] excitedly anticipated the next page. I couldn't put Boar Island down'

  • Headline; May 2016
  • ISBN 9781472202307
  • Read online, or download in secure EPUB format
  • Title: Boar Island (Anna Pigeon Mysteries, Book 19)
  • Author: Nevada Barr
  • Imprint: Headline
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781472202291
  • 9781472202307

In The Press

First-rate... Barr outshines most other authors in the mystery genre

About The Author

Nevada Barr is an award-winning novelist and New York Times bestselling author. She began her career as an actress, during which time she became interested in the environmental movement and started working in the National Parks during the summers - Isle Royale in Michigan, Guadalupe Mountains in Texas, Mesa Verde in Colorado, and then on the Natchez Trace Parkway in Mississippi. Nevada Barr has written a series of mysteries featuring park ranger Anna Pigeon as well as numerous other books, short stories and articles. She currently resides in New Orleans.

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781472202291
  • 9781472202307