The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,385,058 members ⚫ 1,459,539 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Winter House

A sweeping drama of love and friendship

The Winter House by Judith Lennox
Buy this eBook
US$ 3.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

Three women must find their way through a world changed by war...

Set against a backdrop of London, Paris and the unchanging English countryside, The Winter House by Judith Lennox is a novel of rare warmth and beauty. Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore.

'A novel of passion and intrigue, this is an enjoyable read populated by believable characters' - Candis

For three girls growing up in the Fens in the tumultuous years between the First and Second World Wars, the Winter House was a special place of refuge and friendship.

Winter or summer, they would meet at the old wooden house by the waterside to confide all the secrets and heartaches of childhood and adolescence. There was Robin, idealistic and clever, destined for Cambridge; Maia, the most beautiful and ambitious of the three, looking for a rich husband; and quiet Helen, living under the seemingly benevolent tyranny of her widower father, the local vicar. Adulthood separates the three girls, and Robin, abandoning ideas of university, goes to London to work amongst the poor, meeting there her first great love, the handsome but brittle Francis. Maia's ideal marriage to a wealthy man ends in tragedy and Helen, meanwhile, kept in near-imprisonment by her obsessively protective father, has her very sanity threatened. Amid political and social upheaval, these three women must find their way in a world changed for ever.

What readers are saying about The Winter House:

'She writes so beautifully and nostalgically... Judith Lennox is truly a great writer'

'[Judith Lennox's] characters are marvellously drawn, and their lives draw the reader totally into the story'

'Couldn't put it down'

Headline; April 2015
ISBN 9781472224064
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Winter House
Author: Judith Lennox
 
ISBNs
9781472224064