The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,202,057 members ⚫ 1,365,868 ebooks

New to

Learn more

The Selling of the Babe

The Deal That Changed Baseball and Created a Legend

The Selling of the Babe by Glenn Stout
Buy this eBook
US$ 14.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

WINNER of the Society for American Baseball Research's (SABR) 2017 Larry Ritter Awardfor best baseball book of the Deadball Era

The complete story surrounding the most famous and significant player transaction in professional sports

The sale of Babe Ruth by the Boston Red Sox to the New York Yankees in 1919 is one of the pivotal moments in baseball history, changing the fortunes of two of baseball's most storied franchises, and helping to create the legend of the greatest player the game has ever known.

More than a simple transaction, the sale resulted in a deal that created the Yankee dynasty, turned Boston into an also-ran, helped save baseball after the Black Sox scandal and led the public to fall in love with Ruth. Award-winning baseball historian Glenn Stout reveals brand-new information about Babe and the unique political situation surrounding his sale, including:

-Prohibition and the lifting of Blue Laws in New York affected Yankees owner and beer baron Jacob Ruppert
-Previously unexplored documents reveal that the mortgage of Fenway Park did not factor into the Ruth sale
- Ruth's disruptive influence on the Red Sox in 1918 and 1919, including sabermetrics showing his negative impact on the team as he went from pitcher to outfielder

The Selling of the Babe is the first book to focus on the ramifications of the sale and captures the central moment of Ruth's evolution from player to icon, and will appeal to fans of The Kid and Pinstripe Empire. Babe's sale to New York and the subsequent selling of Ruth to America led baseball from the Deadball Era and sparked a new era in the game, one revolved around the long ball and one man, The Babe.

St. Martin's Press; March 2016
ISBN 9781466870000
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Selling of the Babe
Author: Glenn Stout
  • News
'The Selling of the Babe' demythologizes Babe Ruth's trade from the Red Sox to the Yankees - Chicago Tribune
Thu, 31 Mar 2016 12:14:22 -0700
Chicago Tribune'The Selling of the Babe' demythologizes Babe Ruth's trade from the Red Sox to the YankeesChicago ...
How Babe Ruth's move to the Yankees changed baseball - Toronto Star
Mon, 23 May 2016 09:07:34 -0700
Toronto StarHow Babe Ruth's move to the Yankees changed baseballToronto StarGlenn Stout talks about Ruth's move from ...
11 new baseball books to add to your lineup - Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Fri, 01 Apr 2016 09:01:22 -0700
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel11 new baseball books to add to your lineupMilwaukee Journal SentinelThe Selling of the Babe: The ...
More Sports