The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,385,058 members ⚫ 1,459,539 ebooks

New to

Learn more

Faerie Queene Book II

"And all for love, and nothing for reward."

Faerie Queene Book II by Edmund Spenser
Buy this eBook
US$ 3.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

One of the greatest of English poets, Edmund Spenser was born in East Smithfield, London, in 1552. He was educated in London at the Merchant Taylors' School and later at Pembroke College, Cambridge. In 1579, he published The Shepheardes Calender, his first major work. Edmund journeyed to Ireland in July 1580, in the service of the newly appointed Lord Deputy, Arthur Grey, 14th Baron Grey de Wilton. His time included the terrible massacre at the Siege of Smerwick. The epic poem, The Faerie Queene, is acknowledged as Edmund’s masterpiece. The first three books were published in 1590, and a second set of three books were published in 1596. Indeed the reality is that Spenser, through his great talents, was able to move Poetry in a different direction. It led to him being called a Poet’s Poet and brought rich admiration from Milton, Raleigh, Blake, Wordsworth, Keats, Byron, and Lord Tennyson, among others. Spenser returned to Ireland and in 1591, Complaints, a collection of poems that voices complaints in mournful or mocking tones was published. In 1595, Spenser published Amoretti and Epithalamion. The volume contains eighty-nine sonnets. In the following year Spenser wrote a prose pamphlet titled A View of the Present State of Ireland, a highly inflammatory argument for the pacification and destruction of Irish culture. On January 13th 1599 Edmund Spenser died at the age of forty-six. His coffin was carried to his grave in Westminster Abbey by other poets, who threw many pens and pieces of poetry into his grave followed with many tears.

Copyright Group; August 2015
156 pages; ISBN 9781785433146
Read online, or download in secure EPUB or secure PDF format
Title: Faerie Queene Book II
Author: Edmund Spenser