The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,299,691 members ⚫ 1,430,821 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

An Act of Mercy: A gripping historical mystery set in Victorian London

An Act of Mercy: A gripping historical mystery set in Victorian London by J. J. Durham
Buy this eBook
US$ 2.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

A thrilling tale of murder and intrigue in Victorian London, featuring Detective Harry Pilgrim. Perfect for fans of S. J. PARIS and C. J. SANSOM. Previously published as A KILLING KINDNESS.

London 1850. A city of contrasts. Of scientific marvels, poverty, disease and death.

When Detective Sergeant Harry Pilgrim (one of London’s first police detectives) discovers the corpse of a woman in a Hackney cab, the case seems straightforward – until the only suspect is found murdered in his cell.

Pilgrim is hindered in his investigation by his own dark past – a dead son and a missing wife – and also by the well-meaning interference of Charles Dickens, who is serialising Pilgrim's adventures in his journal 'Household Words'.

The case turns into a deadly game of cat and mouse. But who is the cat and who the mouse?

HarperCollins Publishers; April 2015
256 pages; ISBN 9780008132767
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: An Act of Mercy: A gripping historical mystery set in Victorian London
Author: J. J. Durham