The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,293,432 members ⚫ 1,430,845 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

When the Lights Go Down

The glamour of the cinema heals the heartbreak of war...

When the Lights Go Down by Pamela Evans
Buy this eBook
US$ 3.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

With a country on the brink of war, a young usherette is on the brink of heartache...

This irresistible, heartwarming saga from Pam Evans, the bestselling author of In the Dark Streets Shining, is an unforgettable tale of love, hope and war. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lindsey Hutchinson.

'History and Romance. A touching saga' - My Weekly

It is 1938 and the threat of war looms on the streets of London. But, when the lights go down in the cinema aisles, usherette Daisy Blake is transported to a world of glamour and romance. Among the staff there is much merriment and Daisy soon falls in love with the handsome organist, Al Dawson. Then war is declared and, just after Al leaves for the frontline, Daisy discovers she's pregnant. Her mother is distraught; she doesn't think Al is right for her daughter and when Daisy's letters to him go unanswered, her mother encourages her to marry John, the cinema's projectionist, to spare her further heartache.

As the blitz rages over London and disaster strikes, Daisy's morale is boosted by her work and her young son, Sam, brings her comfort and joy in the troubled times ahead...

What Amazon readers are saying about When the Lights Go Down:

'This book was great. Couldn't put it down, well worth reading'

'Like a fairy tale ending'

Headline; March 2016
ISBN 9781472219596
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: When the Lights Go Down
Author: Pamela Evans
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9781472219596