The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,385,058 members ⚫ 1,459,539 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

From the Land of Shadows

From the Land of Shadows by Clive James
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

‘These literary-critical essays are compact with wit and penetration but also have a kind of freshness about them, as if the author has never got over his first rapture of enjoyment at the sheer thisness of poetry and prose. James is in the tradition of Hazlitt, Bagehot, and Desmond MacCarthy, with a gusto worthy to succeed theirs and a philosophy well set out in his own introduction. “Literature”, he writes, “says most things itself, when it is allowed to.” Criticism like this expands that allowance and adds to its pleasure’ John Bayley, Observer

‘His outstanding talent is as a cicerone, guiding the ignorant traveller with patience, knowledge and wit round some favourite literary edifice and communicating his own admiration of it to the goggling and fascinated visitor . . . the lasting impression is of our critic’s truly amazing breadth of reference’ Times Literary Supplement

‘Mr James is hungry for – and not unworthy of – engagement with important issues. A collection of dignity and coherence . . . tellingly timely’ Sunday Times

Pan Macmillan; October 2015
ISBN 9781509822089
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: From the Land of Shadows
Author: Clive James
 

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...