The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,391,687 members ⚫ 1,493,850 ebooks

New to

Learn more

Collected Letters Volume Three: Narnia, Cambridge and Joy 1950–1963

Collected Letters Volume Three: Narnia, Cambridge and Joy 1950–1963 by C. S. Lewis
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

This collection brings together the best of C.S. Lewis’s letters, many published for the first time. Arranged in chronological order, this final volume covers the years 1950 – the year ‘The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe’ was published – through to Lewis’s untimely death in 1963.

C.S. Lewis was a most prolific letter-writer and his personal correspondence reveals much of his private life, reflections, friendships and feelings. This collection, carefully chosen and arranged by Walter Hooper, is the most extensive ever published.

In this great and important collection are the letters Lewis wrote to J.R.R. Tolkien, Dorothy L. Sayers, Owen Barfield, Arthur C. Clarke, Sheldon Vanauken and Dom Bede Griffiths. To some particular friends, such as Dorothy L. Sayers, Lewis wrote over fifty letters alone. The letters deal with all of Lewis’s interests: theology, literary criticism, poetry, fantasy, children’s stories as well as revealing his relationships with family members and friends.

The third and final volume begins with Lewis, already a household name from his BBC radio broadcasts and popular spiritual books, on the cusp of publishing his most famous and enduring book, ‘The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe’, which would ensure his immortality in the literary world. It covers his relationship with Joy Davidman, subject of the film ‘Shadowlands’, and includes letters right up to his death on 22 November 1963, the day that John F. Kennedy was assassinated.

HarperCollins Publishers; June 2009
1840 pages; ISBN 9780007332670
Download in secure EPUB
Title: Collected Letters Volume Three: Narnia, Cambridge and Joy 1950–1963
Author: C. S. Lewis; Walter Hooper

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...