The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to

Learn more

Molecular Mechanisms of Endocrine and Organ Specific Autoimmunity

Molecular Mechanisms of Endocrine and Organ Specific Autoimmunity by George S. Eisenbarth
Buy this eBook
US$ 139.00
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)
Organ specific autoimmune disorders as a group are responsible for a major portion of all debilitating and at times life threatening chronic diseases. Over the past decade more has been learned concerning the molecular pathogenesis of these disorders than during the past 100 years. This includes identification of genes and genetic loci responsible for susceptibility, specific molecules whose ingestion or whose endogenous exposure (e.g. oncogenic autoimmunity) trigger disease, cloning of target autoantigens, identification of molecular pathways of pathogenesis, and discovery particularly in animal models of antigen specific therapies. This book brings together under an integrated theme, international experts who have contributed to the study of both specific autoimmune disorders and often the study of multiple organ specific autoimmune diseases. Both basic researchers and clinical investigators have contributed to the book and the current and future impact upon clinical care of our improving understanding of disease pathogenesis is highlighted. It also includes the diagnosis and prediction of organ specific autoimmune diseases with assay based upon cloned target autoantigens. The future will test our ability to prevent or ameliorate disease with these same molecules. In the study of the multiple diseases reviewed it is hoped that many of the roads will lead to the same destination, namely molecular disease prevention and it is hoped that the current book will help in reaching this goal.
Landes Bioscience; January 1999
284 pages; ISBN 9781570597220
Read online, or download in secure PDF format
Title: Molecular Mechanisms of Endocrine and Organ Specific Autoimmunity
Author: George S. Eisenbarth