The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,325,200 members ⚫ 1,431,678 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Deborah Rising

A Novel Inspired by the Bible

Deborah Rising by Avraham Azrieli
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

In the tradition of The Red Tent, The Fifth Mountain, and The Mists of Avalon comes this absorbing historical novel that reimagines the life of one of the Bible's most revered women, the prophetess Deborah, and her epic journey to fulfill her destiny.

Deborah's father dreamed that his daughter would one day become a prophet of the God of the Israelites. But the social and religious mores of her time dictated that a woman must marry—even against her will—and obey her husband. When Deborah is forced into an engagement with the violent son of her local judge, the young Hebrew woman rebels, determined to forge a new path.

Captivated by the notion of transforming herself into a man to escape the arranged marriage and fulfill her father's dream, Deborah embarks upon an epic journey across the desert to find a mysterious elixirist rumored to be blessed with the gift of turning women into men. It is a journey that proves increasingly perilous—filled with wild beasts, lustful men, unscrupulous priests, and warring tribesmen. Yet Deborah discovers that she is not alone; an unlikely coterie of lepers, slaves, Moabite traders, and even a dead tiger come to her aid and defense along the way.

Part traditional biblical fiction, part adventure, Deborah Rising is a captivating tale about the early life of one of the most famous figures from the Old Testament—a woman of courage and spirit whose battle to overcome discrimination, sexism, and paternalism speaks to women's lives today.

HarperCollins; September 2016
ISBN 9780062563552
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Deborah Rising
Author: Avraham Azrieli
 
ISBNs
9780062563552
9780062673701

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...