The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,319,012 members ⚫ 1,429,817 ebooks

New to

Learn more


The Crackling House

Candlemas by Shirley McKay
Not for sale in
your country
US$ 0.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

Candlemas is the first of five new, self-contained mysteries released as eBooks throughout the year in step with the sixteenth century calendar. A complete collection will be available after the publication of the fifth story.

On Candlemas eve an apprentice candle maker finds his master, John Blair dead in his workshop, and the evidence points to the surgeon Sam Sturrock. Enlisted by Sturrock's desperate apprentice, Hew Cullen, together with his friend and physician Giles Locke, finds himself drawn into the investigation to uncover the truth of the matter. At first it seems like Blair's death is the result of reckless surgical practice, but as Hew delves deeper into the life of the candle maker he discovers a web of extortion and deceit.

John Blair was a man with many enemies...

Look out for the other stories in the series: Whitsunday, Lammas, Martinmas and Yule.

Birlinn; February 2016
40 pages; ISBN 9780857909084
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Candlemas
Author: Shirley McKay
Subject categories

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...