The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,385,058 members ⚫ 1,459,539 ebooks

New to

Learn more

The Apollonian Clockwork

On Stravinsky

The Apollonian Clockwork by Louis Andriessen
Buy this eBook
US$ 59.90
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)
I think my music deserves to be considered as a whole', Igor Stravinsky remarked at the end of a long and restless career, and that is exactly what the authors of The Apollonian Clockwork do. In 1982, convinced that there is no essential difference between 'early' and 'late' Stravinsky, Louis Andriessen and Elmer Schönberger were the first to write a monograph on the composer which radically breaks with the habit of dividing his works into 'Russian', 'neoclassical' and 'serial'. In an essay which continually shifts in its approach, style and perspective, the authors elaborate on their insight that a single, immutable compositional attitude underlies the whole of Stravinsky's oeuvre. By this token the book not only offers an analysis of the composer's protean work and artistry but takes example by it as well."The one book about Stravinsky Stravinsky would have liked." Richard Taruskin
Amsterdam University Press; May 2006
315 pages; ISBN 9789048504121
Read online, or download in secure PDF format
Title: The Apollonian Clockwork
Author: Louis Andriessen; Elmer Schönberger
If you have any abiding interest in 20th-century music, buy this book and read it at once. If music as culture means anything to you, buy this book. It made so little splash the first time around that I've hardly run into anyone who's aware of it. But any composer living would give his left arm to be assured that so witty, wise, creative, simpatico, and insightful a book would be written about him after his death. Richard Taruskin has aptly called it The one book about Stravinsky Stravinsky would have liked." And, thanks to an editorial miracle, it has reappeared after some 15 years' unforgivable absence."Kyle Gann - Village Voice