The Morgue and Me

by

“A throw-back style detective novel that readers of all stripes should pay attention to.” —Los Angeles Times 

Christopher just needed a job to kill time the summer after graduation. He didn’t expect to stumble across a murder cover-up when he was hired as a janitor at the morgue. With the sheriff as his prime suspect, he turns to Tina, a gorgeous newspaper reporter, to help him get to the bottom of the case. Suddenly they find themselves in a full-blown investigation involving bribery, kidnappings, more murders…and his best friend. 

With plenty of plot twists, red herrings, and dry wit, The Morgue and Me is a page-turning modern take on the classic detective genre perfect for fans of Veronica Mars and Shelter.

 

“A dark and stellar debut.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
“Fast-paced and full of red herrings, it’ll keep you guessing.” —New York Post

Edgar Award nominee
Agatha Award nominee
YALSA Best Books for Young Adults nominee




From the Trade Paperback edition.
  • Penguin Young Readers Group; June 2009
  • ISBN 9781101081945
  • Read online, or download in secure EPUB format
  • Title: The Morgue and Me
  • Author: John C. Ford
  • Imprint: Viking Books for Young Readers

In The Press

“A throw-back style detective novel that readers of all stripes should pay attention to.” —The Los Angeles Times

“A dark and stellar debut.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
"Fast-paced and full of red herrings, it'll keep you guessing." —New York Post

“A terrific debut. Christopher Newell is the most realistically and comically awkward teenager ever to solve a crime.” —The Detroit News
 
 “A solid mystery infused with dry wit, but it's his likable, quirky detectives and their crackling chemistry that make The Morgue and Me anything but stiff.” —SLJ
 
“Ford’s unpredictable curveballs and switcheroos never relent. A satisfyingly grim departure from the usual squeaky-clean teen sleuthing.” —Booklist
 
“[A] methodically paced mystery debut.” —Kirkus Reviews

About The Author

John C. Ford (johncfordbooks.com and @fordjohnc) is the author of The Morgue and Me, a YA take on the classic detective novel that was nominated for an Edgar Award and short-listed for five different state teen book awards.  A former litigator who practiced in the nation's capital, he eventually returned to his love of writing fiction, and to his hometown outside Detroit, Michigan.