The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,130,202 members ⚫ 1,348,641 ebooks

New to

Learn more

Women of the Year

Ten Fillies Who Achieved Horse Racing's Highest Honor

Women of the Year by Staff and Correspondents of Blood-Horse Publications
Buy this eBook
US$ 9.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)
Horse of the Year is the highest honor bestowed in Thoroughbred racing, and ten superlative fillies have worn this mantle of greatness. Women of the Year profiles these outstanding racehorses and chronicles the eras in which they raced. They include Miss Woodford, who won the title in consecutive years in the late 19th century; Regret, the 1915 Kentucky Derby winner; and Calumet Farm’s wartime heroine Twilight Tear. The 1945 champ Busher raced for movie mogul Louis B. Mayer while Moccasin, the 1965 champion, raced for the renowned Claiborne Farm. Modern champion females are the French superstar All Along, the great gray Lady’s Secret, and the new century’s durable Azeri. Each profile contains fascinating information about the breeders, owners, and trainers of these remarkable athletes.
Eclipse Press; October 2004
207 pages; ISBN 9781581503050
Read online, or download in secure PDF format
Title: Women of the Year
Author: Staff and Correspondents of Blood-Horse Publications
More Sports
Subject categories