Aberrations of Mourning


"Aberrations of Mourning," originally published in 1988, is the long unavailable first book in Laurence A. Rickels's "unmourning" trilogy, followed by "The Case of California" and "Nazi Psychoanalysis."
Rickels studies mourning and melancholia within and around psychoanalysis, analyzing the writings of such thinkers as Freud, Nietzsche, Lessing, Heinse, Artaud, Keller, Stifter, Kafka, and Kraus. Rickels maintains that we must shift the way we read literature, philosophy, and psychoanalysis to go beyond traditional Oedipal structures.
"Aberrations of Mourning" argues that the idea of the crypt has had a surprisingly potent influence on psychoanalysis, and Rickels shows how society's disturbed relationship with death and dying, our inability to let go of loved ones, has resulted in technology to form more and more crypts for the dead by preserving them--both physically and psychologically--in new ways.
  • University of Minnesota Press; July 2011
  • ISBN 9780816676903
  • Read online, or download in secure PDF format
  • Title: Aberrations of Mourning
  • Author: Laurence A. Rickels
  • Imprint: University of Minnesota Press