The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,063,245 members ⚫ 1,337,215 ebooks

New to

Learn more

For Nirvana

108 Zen Sijo Poems

For Nirvana by Oh-hyun Cho
Buy this eBook
US$ 24.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)
Cho Oh-Hyun was born in Miryang, South Gyeongsang Province, Korea and has lived in retreat in the mountains since becoming a novice monk at the age of seven. Writing under the Buddhist name Musan, he has composed hundreds of poems in seclusion, many in the sijo form, a relatively fixed syllabic style similar to Japanese haiku and tanka. This collection of 108 Zen sijo poems (108 representing the number of klesas, or defilements,” one must overcome to attain enlightenment) features beautiful examples of Cho Oh-Hyun’s award-winning work and the expressive possibilities of sijo. These transfixing poems play with traditional religious and metaphysical themes and include a number of story” sijo poems, a longer, less traditional style that is one of Cho Oh-Hyun’s major innovations. An introduction by Kwon Youngmin, emeritus professor at Seoul National University and a major scholar of sijo, supplies a contextualizing introduction.
Columbia University Press; September 2016
144 pages; ISBN 9780231542432
Read online, or download in secure EPUB or secure PDF format
Title: For Nirvana
Author: Oh-hyun Cho; Heinz Insu Fenkl
More Poetry
Subject categories