The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to

Learn more

Carl Davis: Maestro

Carl Davis: Maestro by Wendy Thompson
Buy this eBook
US$ 20.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)
How do you bring a forgotten silent film back to life? What are the techniques behind writing a successful film score? How do you work with and inspire choreographers? Carl Davis’s fascinating story gives an insight into the prolific composing and conducting career of one of the world’s most celebrated film and television composers.
Born in New York, Carl Davis spent his early years of his career in American before going on to study in Copenhagen. From there he moved to Britain and entered the worlds of classical music, theatre, film and television. He has since composed almost 400 film and TV scores, winning several BAFTAs and Ivor Novello awards, as well as establishing himself as the number one choice to score silent films.Some of his most recognisable work includes the soundtracks for The French Lieutenant’s Woman (BAFTA/Ivor Novello Winner), Pride and Prejudice (1995 TV Series), Scandal (1989) and Cranford.
Written by Wendy Thompson, Carl Davis: Maestro is a glimpse into the life of a consummate all-round musician and his impact on many spheres of music-making.
This is the full eBook version of the original hardback edition
Faber Music Limited; October 2016
300 pages; ISBN 9780571590056
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Carl Davis: Maestro
Author: Wendy Thompson; Carl Davis