The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to

Learn more

The Annals of Tacitus

Books 5–6

The Annals of Tacitus by Tacitus;  A. J. Woodman
Buy this eBook
US$ 118.00 US$ 105.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)
Books 5 and 6 of Tacitus' Annals cover the last years of the emperor Tiberius. Although most of Book 5 is lost, Book 6 survives complete and offers a vivid narrative of the increasingly tyrannical princeps, secluded on the island of Capri; the book ends with his death and obituary notice, one of the most celebrated passages of classical literature. The volume presents a new text of Books 5 and 6, restoring the division between them which was proposed by Lipsius, as well as a full commentary on the text, covering textual, literary, linguistic and historical matters. An Appendix discusses 'The Tacitean Tiberius'. The volume rounds off the sequence which began with commentary on Books 1 and 2 of Tacitus' Annals by F. R. D. Goodyear (1972, 1981) and was continued by commentary on Book 3 by A. J. Woodman and R. H. Martin (1996).
Cambridge University Press; December 2016
ISBN 9781316756959
Read online, or download in secure EPUB or secure PDF format
Title: The Annals of Tacitus
Author: Tacitus; A. J. Woodman