Before We Were Yours

A poignant, family story dubbed one of the best books of the year by The Huffington Post

by

Before We Were Yours: A poignant, family story dubbed one of the best books of the year by The Huffington Post
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781489233257

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice...

A poignant novel inspired by a true story by bestselling author Lisa Wingate, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale

Born into a world of wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all. A loving daughter to her father, a US senator, with her own ambitious career as a lawyer and a handsome fiancé waiting for her in Baltimore, she has lived a charmed life.

But when Avery returns to Aiken to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with May Crandall, an elderly woman she’s never met before, leaves Avery deeply shaken. Avery’s decision to learn more about May’s life will take her on a journey through a hidden history of stolen children and illegal adoption. A journey that will reveal a secret that could lead to devastation…or redemption.

Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781489233257

Customer Reviews


Becky L.
6/25/2017
Verified Buyer
Very good!
I like stories based on real life. The references in the back makes you want to read more.
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781489233257