Phonic Fun Book 1

Activities introducing, consolidating and revising phonic sounds with early readers

by Judy Gabrovec, Melinda Parker

Series: Phonic Fun

PHONIC FUN 1 is the first book in a series of three blackline master books designed to teach phonics to the young reader. Each book contains a variety of activities to introduce, practice, reinforce, and revise all the phonic sounds covered in the book.

The activities include: Read the Words Word Bingo Fill in the Sound What Am I? Read and Draw Interpreting Text Crossword Puzzles Interpreting Pictures Picture Crossword Puzzles Yes or No Word Sleuths Identifying Words Fill in the Word Written Clues Text to Picture Match Picture Clues Rebus Writing Puzzles Reading Text

Each book in the series covers a different set of phonic sounds or blends.

Book 1 ow (cow), ea, ee, oo, ai, ou, or, ir, ar, ay, oa, sh, st, ck, ch

Book 2 ew, aw, ur, ow (crow), oy, a-e, i-e, o-e, u-e, oi, er, qu, wh, u, th, bl, cl, fl, gl, pl, br, cr, dr, fr, tr, gr, tw, sw, sk, ff, ss

Book 3 wa, oo, y (funny), air, ear, all, str, squ, spl, tch, dge, thr, scr, spr, kn, y, ong, ang, ung, ing, le, igh, wr, silent b, ph, ought, aught, gn, ie, our, oar

This book has at least two pages of activities for each sound and some sounds have more. Word Bingo, Practice Your Reading sentences, and a Test Page have been included at the end of the books. These can be used for consolidation of the work covered in the book or for evaluation of the children’s progress.

  • Ready-Ed Publications; May 2001
  • ISBN: 9781863972949
  • Edition: 1
  • Read online, or download in DRM-free PDF (digitally watermarked) format
  • Title: Phonic Fun Book 1
  • Series: Phonic Fun
  • Author: Judy Gabrovec; Melinda Parker (ill.)
  • Imprint: Ready-Ed Publications