The Balkans

A Post-Communist History

by Robert Bideleux, Ian Jeffries

An excellent companion volume to the successful A History of Eastern Europe, this is a country-by-country treatment of the contemporary history of each of the Balkan states: Albania, Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Montenegro and Kosova.

With a distinctive conceptual framework for explaining divergent patterns of historical change, the book shifts the emphasis away from traditional cultural explanations and concentrates on the pervasive influence of strongly entrenched vertical power-structures and power-relations.

Focusing on political and economic continuities and changes since the 1980s, The Balkans includes brief overviews of the history of each state prior to the 1980s to provide the background to enable all students of Eastern European history to make sense of the more recent developments. 

  • Taylor and Francis; November 2006
  • ISBN: 9781134583287
  • Edition: 1
  • Read online, or download in secure PDF or secure ePub format
  • Title: The Balkans
  • Author: Robert Bideleux; Ian Jeffries
  • Imprint: Routledge

In The Press

'A very balanced and informative guide for any reader, especially university students... a penetrating analysis... presents shrewd and thought-provoking analysis.' - Tribune