The Black Angel

A Charlie Parker Thriller: 5

by John Connolly

Series: Charlie Parker Thriller (No. 5)

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781444704723
  • 9781848940345

Detective Charlie Parker returns with a complex new case - not to be missed for fans of Michael Connelly and Jeffery Deaver.

The Black Angel is not an object. The Black Angel is not a myth. The Black Angel lives.

A young woman goes missing from the streets of New York. Those who have taken her believe that nobody cares about her, and that no one will come looking for her. They are wrong. She is 'blood' to the killer Louis, the man who stands at the right hand of private detective Charlie Parker, and Louis will tear apart anyone who stands in the way of his attempts to find her.

But as Louis's violent search progresses, Parker comes to realize that the disappearance is part of an older mystery, one that is linked to an ornate church of bones in Eastern Europe, to the slaughter at a French monastery in 1944, and to the quest for a mythical prize that has been sought for centuries by evil men: the Black Angel.

Yet the Black Angel is more than a myth. It is conscious. It dreams. It is alive.

And men are not the only creatures that seek it . . .


  • Hodder & Stoughton; November 2008
  • ISBN: 9781848940345
  • Read online, or download in secure ePub format
  • Title: The Black Angel
  • Series: Charlie Parker Thriller (No. 5)
  • Author: John Connolly
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781444704723
  • 9781848940345

In The Press

Connolly has virtually no match when it comes to chilling his readers.


About The Author

John Connolly is author of the Charlie Parker mysteries, The Book of Lost Things, the Samuel Johnson novels for young adults and, with his partner, Jennifer Ridyard, the co-author of the Chronicles of the Invaders. John Connolly's debut - EVERY DEAD THING - introduced the character of Private Investigator Charlie Parker, and swiftly launched him right into the front rank of thriller writers. All his subsequent novels have been Sunday Times bestsellers.

In 2007 he was awarded the Irish Post Award for Literature. He was the first non-American writer to win the US Shamus award and the first Irish writer to win an Edgar award. BOOKS TO DIE FOR, which he edited with Declan Burke, was the winner of the 2013 Anthony, Agatha and Macavity awards for Best Non-Fiction work.

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781444704723
  • 9781848940345