Theories of Democratic Network Governance

by Sørensen, Eva, Professor, Torfing, Jacob, Professor

Theories of Democratic Network Governance aims to renew and refocus the theoretical debate on governance networks by posing a series of pressing questions: Why and how are governance networks formed, developed, reshaped and terminated? What are the conditions for governance networks to produce public policy and governance on the basis of stable, negotiated interaction between interdependent, but relative autonomous actors? How is it possible for political authorities of various kinds to regulate self-regulation governance networks in order to minimize the risk of governance failure and maximize the prospect of success? How can we assess the problems and merits of governance networks in relation to normative standards of democracy, and what is the result of such an assessment?

The overall ambition of the book is to create a platform for the development of a second generation of research into the problems and potentials of new forms of interactive governance that tend to spread faster and wider than most academics have hitherto recognized.

  • Palgrave Macmillan; December 2006
  • ISBN: 9780230625006
  • Read online, or download in secure PDF format
  • Title: Theories of Democratic Network Governance
  • Author: Sørensen, Eva, Professor (ed.); Torfing, Jacob, Professor (ed.)
  • Imprint: Palgrave Macmillan

About The Author

EVA SØRENSEN is Professor of Public Administration at Roskilde University, Denmark. She has written several books and articles on democracy, public administration and new forms of governance. She is co-founder of the Centre for Democratic Network Governance and currently directs a large scale research project on regional network governance.

JACOB TORFING is Professor of Politics and Institutions at Roskilde University, Denmark. He is currently working on discourse theory, welfare reforms and democratic network governance. His books include New Theories of Discourse (1999) and Politics, Regulation and the Modern Welfare State (1995). He is Director of the Centre for Democratic Network Governance and a member of the Danish Social Research Council.