The Botanist's Daughter

The most gripping and heartwrenching historical novel you'll read this year!

by Kayte Nunn

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781409190530
  • 9781409190547

'A sweeping and exotic read. I was completely swept away. Perfect for readers of Kate Morton.' Lorna Cook, bestselling author of 'The Forgotten Village'

A buried secret...

Present day: Anna is focused on growing her new gardening business and renovating her late grandmother's house. But when she discovers a box hidden in a wall cavity, containing water colours of exotic plants, an old diary and a handful of seeds, she finds herself thrust into a centuries-old mystery. One that will send her halfway across the world to Kew Gardens and then onto Cornwall in search of the truth.

A lady adventurer...

1886: Elizabeth Trebithick is determined to fulfil her father's dying wish and continue his life's work as an adventurer and plant-hunter. So when she embarks on a perilous journey to discover a rare and miraculous flower, she will discover that the ultimate betrayal can be found even across the seas...

Two women, separated by centuries. Can one mysterious flower bring them together?

Readers and authors love The Botanist's Daughter:

'The whole book is a delight... Perfect reading whilst sipping a g & t in a beautiful garden somewhere in the sun!' Rosanna Ley, bestselling author of 'The Lemon Tree Hotel'

'I loved this book and really look forward to reading the next book by Kayte Nunn; perfect for reading in the garden with a glass of something cold.' Bookliterat

'Fast-moving and full of surprises...while delivering a poignant and heart-warming story of romance and new beginnings ' Kate Forsyth

'The Botanist's Daughter is a quick paced but mysterious read, which transports you across time and place and is filled with an abundance of flowers.' Foreword Books

'The Botanist's Daughter is an intriguing story about the strength of women who, for their own reasons, are willing to travel halfway across the world and end up with the same goal. It's also a family mystery that slowly reveals its secrets, just like a blooming flower.' The Bookish Gurl 5/5 stars


  • Orion; January 2019
  • ISBN: 9781409190547
  • Read online, or download in secure ePub format
  • Title: The Botanist's Daughter
  • Author: Kayte Nunn
  • Imprint: Orion
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781409190530
  • 9781409190547

About The Author

Kayte Nunn is a former book and magazine editor and features writer and is the author of two contemporary novels. The Botanist's Daughter is her first historical novel, and stems in part from her love of flowers and botanical art.