Protected Mode Software Architecture

by Tom Shanley,

Series: The PC System Architecture Series

Anyone writing real-time operating systems, multi-task operating systems, or device drivers for these systems needs to be able to do assembly language protected-mode programming. Protected Mode Software Architecture helps readers understand the problems that single-task and multitasking operating systems must deal with, and then examines each component of both the real and protected mode software architectures of the post-286 Intel processors.

Key topics covered include:

  • Single-Task vs. Multitasking
  • Control Registers
  • Real Mode Operation
  • Protected Mode Operation
  • Virtual Memory Paging
  • Code Segments
  • Data and Stack Segments
  • Task Switching
  • Interrupt Sources and Handling
  • Virtual Paging
  • Virtual 8086 Mode.

    The MindShare PC System Architecture Series includes: ISA System Architecture, EISA System Architecture, 80486 System Architecture, PCI System Architecture, Pentium System Architecture, PCMCIA System Architecture, PowerPC System Architecture, Plug-and-Play System Architecture, CardBus System Architecture, and Protected Mode Software Architecture.