Ian McEwan banner

Ian McEwan

Cover image detail from the US edition of Atonement

 ?? Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan’s works have earned him worldwide critical acclaim. He won the Somerset Maugham Award in 1976 for his first collection of short stories First Love, Last Rites; the Whitbread Novel Award (1987) and the Prix Fémina Etranger (1993) for The Child in Time; and Germany's Shakespeare Prize in 1999. He has been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction numerous times, winning the award for Amsterdam in 1998. His novel Atonement received the WH Smith Literary Award (2002), National Book Critics' Circle Fiction Award (2003), Los Angeles Times Prize for Fiction (2003), and the Santiago Prize for the European Novel (2004). Atonement was also made into an Oscar-winning film.

In 2006, Ian McEwan won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for his novel Saturday and his novel On Chesil Beach was named Galaxy Book of the Year at the 2008 British Book Awards where McEwan was also named Reader's Digest Author of the Year. Solar won The Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction in 2010 and Sweet Tooth won the Paddy Power Political Fiction Book of the Year award in 2012. Ian McEwan was awarded a CBE in 2000. In 2014 he was awarded the Bodleian Medal. On Chesil Beach and The Children Act have recently been made into feature films.

New Releases


Ebook Format


1 - 10 of 21 results

Machines Like Me
Random House (2019)

**Number One Sunday Times Bestseller** Charlie, drifting through life and dodging full-time...

The Children Act
Random House (2014)

A brilliant, emotionally-wrenching novel from the bestselling author of Atonement , now a major...

Random House (2010)

Discover the modern classic that has sold over two million copies. ...

The Cockroach
Random House (2019)

Kafka meets The Thick Of It in a bitingly funny new political satire from Ian McEwan That...

Sweet Tooth
Random House (2012)

The year is 1972, the Cold War is far from over and Serena Frome, in her final year at Cambridge, is...

Random House (2010)

Michael Beard is a Nobel prize-winning physicist whose best work is behind him. A compulsive...

Random House (2010)

***WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE*** Two old friends – Cline Linley and Vernon Halliday – meet at the...

On Chesil Beach
Random House (2010)

It is July 1962. Edward and Florence, young innocents married that morning, arrive at a hotel on the...

Random House (2016)

** Sunday Times Number One Bestseller** A classic tale of murder and deceit from one of the...

The Innocent
Random House (2010)

The Innocent is a startlingly prescient novel from Booker prize-winning Sunday Times bestselling...