Health Care Issues

854 titles from eBooks.com

New Releases

Language

Ebook Format

DRM

Comfortably Numb: How Psychiatry Medicated a Nation

Comfortably Numb

How Psychiatry Medicated a Nation

Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group (2008)
US$15.95

American doctors dispense approximately 230 million antidepressant prescriptions every year, more...

The Status Syndrome: How Social Standing Affects Our Health and Longevity

The Status Syndrome

How Social Standing Affects Our Health and Longevity

Henry Holt and Co. (2007)
US$6.79

Based on decades of his own research, a pioneering epidemiologist reveals the surprising factors...

Enjoy Great Sleep: 52 Brilliant Little Ideas for Bedtime Bliss

Enjoy Great Sleep

52 Brilliant Little Ideas for Bedtime Bliss

Infinite Ideas (2007)
US$6.95

Millions of us want to enjoy better sleep, and more of it, and there’s tons of advice out there to...

God's Hotel: A Doctor, a Hospital, and a Pilgrimage to the Heart of Medicine

God's Hotel

A Doctor, a Hospital, and a Pilgrimage to the Heart of Medicine

Penguin Publishing Group (2012)
US$15.15

Victoria Sweet's new book, SLOW MEDICINE, is on sale now! For readers of Paul Kalanithi’s When...

Why We Get Sick: The New Science of Darwinian Medicine

Why We Get Sick

The New Science of Darwinian Medicine

Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group (2012)
US$17.00

The next time you get sick, consider this before picking up the aspirin: your body may be doing...

Harvard Medical School Guide to Healing Your Sinuses
McGraw-Hill Education (2005)
US$16.20

From a leading expert at one of the world's most respected medical schools----learn how to beat...

Autism and Asperger Syndrome
OUP Oxford (2008)
US$11.69

This book provides a factual guide to autism and Asperger syndrome for those with the diagnosis,...

Doctored: The Disillusionment of an American Physician
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (2014)
US$10.50

In his acclaimed memoir Intern, Sandeep Jauhar chronicled the formative years of his residency at a...

Vital Signs: Stories from Intensive Care

Vital Signs

Stories from Intensive Care

University of NSW Press (2009)
US$29.95

This gripping collection of stories about the experiences of intensive care patients, their families...

Before You Take that Pill: Why the Drug Industry May Be Bad for Your Health

Before You Take that Pill

Why the Drug Industry May Be Bad for Your Health

Penguin Publishing Group (2008)
US$24.00

A medical expert reveals risks of the most commonly prescribed drugs-and why the drug industry...