The Orphan's Tale

A Novel

by Pam Jenoff

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780778319818
  • 9781460396421
Look out for Pam’s new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II.

A New York Times bestseller!

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. “ —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night.

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
  • MIRA Books; February 2017
  • ISBN: 9781460396421
  • Read online, or download in secure ePub format
  • Title: The Orphan's Tale
  • Author: Pam Jenoff
  • Imprint: MIRA
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780778319818
  • 9781460396421

In The Press

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion... I read this novel in a headlong rush." —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

“[A] heartbreaking and breathtaking story…. Jenoff’s prose is evocative and compelling.” —The Globe and Mail

“Christina Baker Kline's Orphan Train has collided with the circus caravan from Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants…. Jenoff has written a tribute to the human spirit that soars in the midst of epic despair.” —NPR

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel.” —Library Journal

“Beautiful, ethereal, and poignant, The Orphan’s Tale is a novel you won’t be able to put down.” —Bustle

A compelling and beautifully told story about the power of female friendship, with all its complications.” —PopSugar

The Orphan's Tale is not one person's story of abandonment but that of a generation lost to history. With a detailed command of circus life, unexpected twists and parallel narratives, Pam Jenoff uses the circus's mystique to symbolize each character's secrets.” —Shelf Awareness

“A gripping story about the power of friendship to save and redeem even in the darkest of circumstances. This is a book not to be missed.” —Melanie Benjamin,New York Times bestselling author of The Aviator's Wife

“Jenoff expertly performs a pirouetting tale worthy of a standing ovation.... The Orphan's Tale proves that the human spirit defies hate, fear, and gravity with a triumphant ta-da!” —Sarah McCoy, New York Times bestselling author of The Mapmaker's Children

“Riveting.... With deftness and emotion, Jenoff sets in motion a compelling story of friendship and courage.” —Charles Belfoure, author of The Paris Architect and House of Thieves

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780778319818
  • 9781460396421