Kids Stink (A Tom Weekly Story)

by Tristan Bancks, Gus Gordon

Kids Stink (A Tom Weekly Story)
A very funny Tom Weekly story from the slightly warped brains of the author and illustrator of My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up.

Think your grandpa's angry? Think again. I'm Tom Weekly and my Pop is the angriest grandpa in Australia. The world, maybe. He hates nurses, harmless marine mammals and kids. Especially kids. Problem is, I have to interview him for school. And I've caught him on a bad day. A real bad day.

Believe me, you do not want to hear what my grandfather has to say. But if you must, then download this short story.


What reviewers said about the first Tom Weekly book, My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up:

'These bite-sized bursts of fun are inspired by Paul Jennings, Andrew Daddo and Andy Griffiths, the sort of stories that will keep kids enthralled.' Oliver Phommavanh in Buzz Words Books

'A sort of Aussie tall-tale version of Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Bancks' latest features stories with a high-level gross-out factor.' Booklist

'Are you ready to laugh? Yes? Good. Because you won't be able to help yourself once you open this cover . Boys will love this book. Fans of Griffiths, Gleitzman and Jennings will be thrilled to have this book in their collection.' www.kids-bookreview.com

  • Penguin Random House Australia; June 2013
  • ISBN: 9780857981677
  • Read online, or download in secure ePub format
  • Title: Kids Stink (A Tom Weekly Story)
  • Author: Tristan Bancks; Gus Gordon (ill.)
  • Imprint: Random House Australia

About The Author

Tristan Bancks (Author)
Tristan Bancks tells stories for the page and screen. His books for kids and teens include Two Wolves, The Fall, Detention and the Tom Weekly series. Two Wolves won Honour Book in the 2015 CBCA Book of the Year Awards and was shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Awards. The Fall was a CBCA Notable Book and shortlisted for the Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. Tristan's books have also been recognised in multiple children's choice awards. Tristan is a writer-ambassador for literacy charity Room to Read. He is currently working with producers to develop several of his books for the screen. He's excited by the future of storytelling and inspiring others to create. You can find out more about Tristan's books, play games, watch videos, chat to the author and help him try to change the world at www.tristanbancks.com.

Gus Gordon (Illustrator)
Gus Gordon is an internationally acclaimed illustrator and author. He has illustrated and written over 80 books for children. His illustrations are known for their loose and energetic line work, mixed media and humour. His writing is always anthropomorphic. He attributes this to his love of Kenneth Grahame's Wind in The Willows.
Gus's first picture book, Wendy, was a Notable Book in the 2010 Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Picture Book of the Year Awards.

His second picture book, Herman and Rosie, now published in twelve countries, has been internationally acclaimed and awarded.

Somewhere Else was published by Penguin Random House Australia in 2016.