The Crossed-Out Notebook

A Novel

by Nicolás Giacobone, Megan McDowell

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781501198748
  • 9781501198762
From the Academy Award-winning cowriter of Birdman, a wonderfully eccentric, suspenseful debut in the tradition of Misery and Kiss of the Spiderwoman about a screenwriter kidnapped by a world-famous director who orders him to compose a masterpiece.

Pablo, a failed Argentine novelist-turned-screenwriter, has been kidnapped by the greatest Latin American film director of all time and is kept in a basement where he works, day after day, on what he is told must at all costs be a great, world-changing screenplay. Every night, after finishing work on the script, Pablo writes in his notebook and every morning he crosses out what he wrote the night before. The Crossed-Out Notebook is Pablo’s diary of this time: being brought food by a maid; being threatened with a gun; vociferously arguing with the director about what he’s written the previous day.

The clash between the two men and their different approaches leads to a movie being made, a gun going off, an unlikely escape, and a final confrontation. In the end, The Crossed-Out Notebook is a darkly funny novel full of intrigue and surprise about the essence of the creative process; a short, crazy ode to any artist whose brilliance shines through strangeness and adversity.

  • Scribner; September 2019
  • ISBN: 9781501198762
  • Read online, or download in secure ePub format
  • Title: The Crossed-Out Notebook
  • Author: Nicolás Giacobone; Megan McDowell (trans.)
  • Imprint: Scribner
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781501198748
  • 9781501198762

In The Press

"Nicolas Giacobone has done the impossible. The Crossed-Out Notebook is a meta-fictional page-turner that grapples as much with Beckett as with Pretty Woman, as much with The Beatles as with Fellini. Also hidden in these pages are gems about what it takes to sit down in your pajamas everyday and attempt to put worlds to words."


About The Author

Nicolás Giacobone was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, in 1975. He shared an Academy Award and Golden Globe for co-writing Birdman, which also won the Academy Award for Best Picture. He is the author of the novel The Crossed-Out Notebook.

Megan McDowell has translated many contemporary authors from Latin America and Spain, including Nicolás Giacobone, Alejandro Zambra, Samanta Schweblin, Mariana Enriquez, Gonzalo Torné, Lina Meruane, Diego Zuñiga, and Carlos Fonseca. Her translations have been published in The New YorkerTin HouseThe Paris Review, Harper’sMcSweeney’sWords Without Borders, and Vice, among others.

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781501198748
  • 9781501198762