Instructions for a Secondhand Heart

by Tamsyn Murray

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780316471787
  • 9780316471749
A moving novel about grief, guilt, and the unpredictability of love, for fans of Everything, Everything and All the Bright Places.

Jonny knows better than anyone that life is full of cruel ironies. He's spent every day in a hospital hooked up to machines to keep his heart ticking. Then when an organ donor is found for Jonny's heart, that turns out to be the cruelest irony of all. Because for Jonny's life to finally start, someone else's had to end.

That someone turns out to be Neve's twin brother, Leo. When Leo was alive, all Neve wanted was for him (and all his glorious, overshadowing perfection) to leave. Now that Leo's actually gone forever, Neve has no idea how to move forward. Then Jonny walks into her life looking for answers, her brother's heart beating in his chest, and everything starts to change.

Together, Neve and Jonny will have to face the future, no matter how frightening it is, while learning to heal their hearts, no matter how much it hurts.

(Features select graphic novel illustrations from Jonny's sketchbook.)


  • Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; December 2017
  • ISBN: 9780316471749
  • Read online, or download in secure ePub format
  • Title: Instructions for a Secondhand Heart
  • Author: Tamsyn Murray
  • Imprint: Poppy
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780316471787
  • 9780316471749

In The Press

"Pumps out grief and joy like the beating of a heart. A sweet, yet gut-wrenching novel that'll keep you turning pages."—Adi Alsaid, author of North of Happy and Let's Get Lost


About The Author

Tamsyn Murray spent her childhood moving around a lot throughout England. At eighteen she left home to go to university in London and now lives in Hertfordshire. When she's not working or writing, she can be found singing and dancing with her local amateur dramatics society. She has one daughter and one son and several pets.