Six Feet Under

by Dorothy Simpson

Series: The Inspector Thanet Mysteries (No. 2)

Subject categories
  • 9781504044332
An English village is shaken by murder in this police procedural from the “dependably pleasing” author of The Night She Died (The Boston Globe).

Det. Inspector Luke Thanet may be the only happy cop in England. He has two healthy children, a wonderful wife, and the inner peace that comes from knowing there’s nothing on the job he can’t handle. But all that changes the first day he goes to Nettleton, a little town with evil secrets—and a body count on the rise.
The first victim is Carrie Birch, a quiet woman who lives with her elderly mother and has never made an enemy in her life. When she doesn’t come home one night, her mother panics and calls the police. Inspector Thanet’s partner, the brash young Mike Lineham, answers the call. He finds Carrie brutally murdered in a Nettleton bathroom, the first revelation in a series of shocks that will tear the little village wide open.
A classic British mystery, Six Feet Under is perfect for fans of Dorothy L. Sayers, Agatha Christie, and the blockbuster television series Midsomer Murders.
Six Feet Under is the 2nd book in the Inspector Thanet Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.

  • Open Road Media; June 2017
  • ISBN: 9781504044332
  • Read online, or download in secure ePub format
  • Title: Six Feet Under
  • Series: The Inspector Thanet Mysteries (No. 2)
  • Author: Dorothy Simpson
  • Imprint: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller
Subject categories
  • 9781504044332

In The Press

“Masterly . . . Holds the reader’s interest not merely on every page but with pretty nearly every word.” —Eastern Daily Press
Praise for Dorothy Simpson
“A modern-day version of Agatha Christie [who] just keeps turning out solid, cleverly crafted mysteries. Like Christie, Simpson has an uncanny grasp of what makes people tick, but her stories are less in the British cozy mold and more of a combination police procedural and psychological suspense thriller.” —Booklist
“A most valuable and accomplished mistress of the craft of detective-story writing.” —Gladys Mitchell, author of the Mrs. Bradley mysteries
“Simpson’s mysteries are beautifully crafted and turn on character and psychological insight.” —The Washington Post

About The Author

Dorothy Simpson (b. 1933) was born and raised in South Wales, and went to Bristol University, where she studied modern languages before moving to Kent, the setting for her Inspector Thanet Mysteries. After spending several years at home with her three children, she trained as a marriage guidance counselor and subsequently worked as one for thirteen years before writing her first novel. Says Simpson, “You may think that marriage guidance counselor to crime writer is rather a peculiar career move, but although I didn’t realize it at the time, of course, the training I received was the best possible preparation for writing detective novels. Murder mysteries are all about relationships which go disastrously wrong, and the insights I gained into what makes people tick, into their interaction and motivations, have been absolutely invaluable to DI Thanet, my series character, as have the interviewing skills I acquired during my years of counseling.”

Subject categories
  • 9781504044332