Screams in the Dark

a gripping crime thriller with a shocking twist from the author of Blood Feud

by Anna Smith

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781780871196

A gritty, page-turning thriller perfect for fans of Martina Cole.

Refugees are disappearing in Glasgow. The mutilated body of one has been found, but the police aren't interested. Can crime reporter Rosie Gilmour uncover the truth before the killer comes for her?

Steeped in its own problems, Glasgow's mushrooming underclass is simmering with resentment and the sudden flow of Kosovan refugess into the city; and one by one, refugees are disappearing. The authorities assume the refugees have vanished into the black economy, until the mutilated body of an Albanian man is fished out of the River Clyde.

Asylum seekers and refugees with no roots and no families are easy pickings. But why is there no urgency from the authorities to find out what's happening? Rosie Gilmour's instincts tell her there's more to this story, but after six weeks on the frontlines in Kosovo, is her sympathy for the refugees clouding her judgement?

'Gripping and compelling' KIMBERLEY CHAMBERS

'An action packed novel with current political undertones that make for a riveting read' EUROCRIME


  • Quercus Publishing; January 2013
  • ISBN: 9781780871196
  • Read online, or download in secure ePub format
  • Title: Screams in the Dark
  • Author: Anna Smith
  • Imprint: Quercus Publishing
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781780871196

About The Author

Anna Smith has been a journalist for over twenty years and is a former chief reporter for the Daily Record in Glasgow. She has covered wars across the world as well as major investigations and news stories from Dunblane to Kosovo to 9/11. Anna spends her time between Lanarkshire and Dingle in the west of Ireland, as well as in Spain to escape the British weather.

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9781780871196