The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,063,245 members ⚫ 1,337,215 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • The Blaze of Obscurityby Clive James

    Pan Macmillan 2009; US$ 13.12

    ‘I was never alone except in the toilet, where I soon found that locking myself into a cubicle was not much protection from hearing myself talked about by young men standing at urinals. (“Jesus, he’s looking rough.” “And it’s only Monday.”) Reviews for Clive James’s fourth volume of memoirs, North Face of Soho , included several that specifically... more...

  • The Remakeby Clive James

    Pan Macmillan 2015; US$ 10.49

    His second work of fiction, following Brilliant Creatures , Clive James's The Remake is a brilliantly observed novel, filled with his trademark erudition and humour. Joel Court had problems. He’d lost his wife, his mistress, quite possibly his career as an astronomical wizard, and had ended up living with Chance Jenolan, to whom success was a... more...

  • The Crystal Bucketby Clive James

    Pan Macmillan 2015; US$ 10.49

    The second instalment in Clive James’s TV criticism collection – The Crystal Bucket - earned him the title ‘Critic of the Year’ by the British Press Awards. Taking its title from Walter Raleigh’s The Passionate Man’s Pilgrimage and is dedicated to the poet Peter Porter. more...

  • From the Land of Shadowsby Clive James

    Pan Macmillan 2015; US$ 10.49

    ‘These literary-critical essays are compact with wit and penetration but also have a kind of freshness about them, as if the author has never got over his first rapture of enjoyment at the sheer thisness of poetry and prose. James is in the tradition of Hazlitt, Bagehot, and Desmond MacCarthy, with a gusto worthy to succeed theirs and a philosophy... more...

  • The Dreaming Swimmerby Clive James

    Pan Macmillan 2015; US$ 10.49

    'He writes like a prophet and he can satirise folly in high places with a touch as elegant as Oscar Wilde . . . There isn't a word wasted' Daily Mail 'A well-balanced show of wit, intellect and glorious observation' Sunday Times 'No one wields a joke more punchily than he does. And the wide capacity for warmth towards all sorts of experience... more...

  • The Metropolitan Criticby Clive James

    Pan Macmillan 2015; US$ 9.18

    In 1974 The Metropolitan Critic started a new trend in cultural comment which has since become an orthodoxy. The young Clive James was the first journalist in London to talk about high culture and pop culture in the same all-consuming, sparkling style. Even at that early stage, the learning behind his literary high-wire act was formidable: a portent... more...

  • Collected Poemsby Clive James

    Pan Macmillan 2016; US$ 26.25

    Clive James's reputation as a poet has become impossible to ignore. His poems looking back over his extraordinarily rich life with a clear-eyed and unflinching honesty, such as 'Japanese Maple' (first published in the New Yorker in 2014), became global news events upon their publication. In this book, James makes his own rich selection from over... more...

  • Gate of Lilacsby Clive James

    Pan Macmillan 2016; US$ 17.06

    Over a period of fifteen years Clive James learned French by almost no other method than reading À la recherche du temps perdu . Then he spent half a century trying to get up to speed with Proust's great novel in two different languages. Gate of Lilacs is the unique product of James's love and engagement with Proust's eternal masterpiece. ... more...

  • The Book of My Enemyby Clive James

    Pan Macmillan 2017; US$ 10.49

    The reputation of Clive James as a poet was slow to form, perhaps because he was too famous as a star journalist and television entertainer. There was also the drawback that his poetry was so entertaining it was hard for many critics to take seriously. But after the notoriety achieved by a single self-satirizing poem, ‘The Book of My Enemy Has Been... more...

  • Visions Before Midnightby Clive James

    Pan Macmillan 2017; US$ 10.49

    From the man who made TV criticism an entertainment in its own right comes Visions Before Midnight, a selection from the column hundreds of thousands of devoted fans would turn to first thing on a Sunday morning. Clive James's comic brilliance is displayed here, from the 1972 Olympics ( But your paradigm no-no commentary can't be made up of fluffs... more...