The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,003,177 members ⚫ 1,317,278 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in Americaby Donald Hall

    Oxford University Press 1990; US$ 34.99

    Compiled by the award-winning poet and author of children's books, Donald Hall, this delightful anthology follows in the tradition of Iona and Peter Opie's classic Oxford Book of Children's Verse . Hall brings together poems written specifically for children and also those written for anyone and enjoyed by children and adults alike. He presents over... more...

  • Dock Ellis in the Country of Baseballby Donald Hall

    Touchstone 2010; US$ 22.95

    One of America's finest poets joins forces with one of baseball's most outrageous pitchers to paint a revealing portrait of our national game. Donald Hall's forceful, yet elegant, prose brings together all the elements of Dock Ellis's story into a seamless whole.  The two of them, the pitcher and the poet, give us remarkable insight into the customs... more...

  • Life Workby Donald Hall

    Beacon Press 2012; US$ 16.00

    Distinguished poet Donald Hall reflects on the meaning of work, solitude, and love "The best new book I have read this year, of extraordinary nobility and wisdom. It will remain with me always."—Louis Begley,  The New York Times "A sustained meditation on work as the key to personal happiness. . . .  Life Work  reads most of all like a first-person... more...

  • Sexual Aggressionby Donald Hall

    Taylor and Francis 2013; US$ 47.95

    First published in 1993. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company. more...

  • The Painted Bedby Donald Hall

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2003; US$ 13.13

    Donald Hall's fourteenth collection opens with an epigraph from the Urdu poet Faiz: "The true subject of poetry is the loss of the beloved." In that poetic tradition, as in THE PAINTED BED, the beloved might be a person or something else - life itself, or the disappearing countryside. Hall's new poems further the themes of love, death, and mourning... more...

  • White Apples and the Taste of Stoneby Donald Hall

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2007; US$ 11.93

    White Apples and the Taste of Stone is the definitive lifetime work of an American master -- with a bound-in audio CD of selections read by the author. One of the most significant poets of his generation, Donald Hall has garnered numerous accolades and honors, including the Frost Medal from the Poetry Society of America, the National Book Critics... more...

  • The Best Day the Worst Dayby Donald Hall

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2006; US$ 13.13

    Donald Hall's celebrated book of poems Without was written for his wife, Jane Kenyon, who died in 1995. Hall returns to this powerful territory in The Best Day the Worst Day, a work of prose that is equally "a work of art, love, and generous genius" (Liz Rosenberg, Boston Globe). Jane Kenyon was nineteen years younger than Donald Hall and a student... more...

  • The Back Chamberby Donald Hall

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2011; US$ 14.92

    The first, full-length volume of poems in a decade by former poet laureate of the United States Donald Hall   more...

  • Unpacking the Boxesby Donald Hall

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2009; US$ 13.73

    Donald Hall’s remarkable life in poetry — a career capped by his appointment as U.S. poet laureate in 2006 — comes alive in this richly detailed, self-revealing memoir. Hall’s invaluable record of the making of a poet begins with his childhood in Depression-era suburban Connecticut, where he first realized poetry was “secret, dangerous, wicked, and... more...

  • The Old Lifeby Donald Hall

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 1997; US$ 11.93

    For nearly forty years, Donald Hall has stood in the front rank of American poets. The title poem, an autobiographical sequence, takes Hall from his boyhood to his growing acquaintance with poets--seniors like Robert Frost and contemporaries like Robert Bly. It sees him growing into manhood, fatherhood, grandfatherhood, and a happy second marriage.... more...