The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,231,541 members ⚫ 1,403,841 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Hard-Boiled

Most popular at the top

  • Stay of Execution (Bob Skinner series, Book 14)by Quintin Jardine

    Headline 2008; US$ 10.99

    Can you fight evil with evil...? As international terrorism stalks the City of Edinburgh, DCC Bob Skinner confronts his darkest demons in Quintin Jardine's gripping crime thriller Stay of Execution . Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter May. Evil stalks the city of Edinburgh. This time the threat is bigger than the crooks, scam-artists... more...

  • The Guise of Anotherby Allen Eskens

    Prometheus Books 2015; US$ 9.99

    Who was James Putnam? Answering that question may mean salvation for Alexander Rupert, a Minnesota detective whose life is in a serious downward spiral. A Medal of Valor winner, Alexander is now under subpoena by a grand jury on suspicion of corruption. He’s been reassigned to the Frauds Unit, where he is shunned by his fellow detectives, and he fears... more...

  • The Hills of Homicideby Louis L'Amour

    Random House Publishing Group 2005; US$ 5.99

    FROM AMERICA’S STORYTELLER: A TREASURY OF HIS GREAT DETECTIVE STORIES   Here is a collection of Louis L’Amour detective stories—vivid tales as memorable and exciting as his beloved frontier fiction. Each story is personally selected and introduced by the author.   In the dark alleys of the pulsing cities and the savage criminal wildernesses, Louis... more...

  • Die a Strangerby Steve Hamilton

    St. Martin's Press 2012; US$ 12.59

    The New York Times Bestseller Late one night, a plane lands on a deserted airstrip. Five dead bodies are found there the next morning. And now Vinnie LeBlanc is missing. Vinnie is a member of the Ojibwa Indian tribe and he just might be Alex McKnight's best friend. So Alex can't help but be worried when he disappears. There's a deadly crime war... more...

  • Birds of Preyby J. A. Jance

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 7.99

    The Starfire Breeze steams its way north toward the Gulf of Alaska, buffeted by crisp sea winds blowing down from the Arctic. Those on board are seeking peace, relaxation, adventure, escape. But there is no escape in this place of unspoiled natural majesty. Because terror strolls the decks even in the brilliant light of day . . . and death is a conspicuous,... more...

  • In the Midst of Deathby Lawrence Block

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 6.39

    Bad cop Jerry Broadfield didn't make any friends on the force when he volunteered to squeal to an ambitious d.a. about police corruption. Now he'saccused of murdering a call girl. Matthew Scudder doesn't think Broadfield's a killer, but the cops aren't about to help the unlicensed p.i. prove it -- and they may do a lot worse than just get in his way.... more...

  • The Sins of the Fathersby Lawrence Block

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 6.39

    The pretty young prostitute is dead. Her alleged murderer—a minister's son—hanged himself in his jail cell. The case is closed. But the dead girl's fatherhas come to Matthew Scudder for answers, sending the unlicensed private investigator in search of terrible truths about a life that was lived and lost in a sordid world of perversion and pleasures.... more...

  • When the Sacred Ginmill Closesby Lawrence Block

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 6.39

    In the dark days, in a sad and lonely place, ex-cop Matt Scudder is drinking his life away -- and doing "favors" for pay for his ginmill cronies. But when three such assignments flow together in dangerous and disturbing ways, he'll need to change his priorities from boozing to surviving. more...

  • A Dance at the Slaughterhouseby Lawrence Block

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 10.51

    A successful socialite's beautiful wife was raped and murdered in her own home -- and Matt Scudder believes the victim's "grieving" husband was responsible for the outrage. But to prove it, the haunted p.i. must descend into the depths of New York's sex-for-sale underworld, where young lives are commodities to be bought, perverted...and destroyed.... more...

  • The Devil Knows You're Deadby Lawrence Block

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 5.99

    A deranged derelict, a crazed Vietnam vet, has been arrested for gunning down successful young lawyer Glenn Holtzmann at a corner phone booth on Eleventh Avenue -- and the suspect's brother wants p.i. Matthew Scudder to prove the madman innocent. But Scudder's curiosity and dedication are leading him to dark, unexplored places in his own heart...and... more...