The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,319,012 members ⚫ 1,429,817 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Hard-Boiled

Most popular at the top

  • Vintage Hammettby Dashiell Hammett

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2007; US$ 9.95

    Sam Spade, Nick and Nora Charles, The Continental Op. In his novels and stories, Dashiell Hammett created some of the most memorable characters--detectives, dames, and assorted miscreants--in twentieth-century fiction. It is nearly impossible to imagine modern American literature without Hammett. Vintage Hammett features episodes from Red Harvest... more...

  • Blood Sunsetby Jarad Henry

    Allen & Unwin 2008; US$ 15.27

    In the grip of a blistering Melbourne heat wave, a teenager is found dead in a St Kilda loading bay with a syringe hanging from his arm - is it an overdose or something more sinister? Assigned to the case, Detective Rubens McCauley soon he finds himself up against a secret network of paedophiles, child abusers and underage prostitutes . . . brilliantly... more...

  • Another Lifeby Andrew Vachss

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2008; US$ 15.00

    In this blistering conclusion to the nationally bestselling series, Burke is forced into a journey that will change the lives of the urban survivalist and his outlaw family forever.The only person Burke has ever called father, known throughout the underground as “The Prof,” is in a coma, barely clinging to life in an off the-books hospital. So when... more...

  • The Lover's Knotby Clare O'Donohue

    Penguin Publishing Group 2008; US$ 14.00

    Book #1 of the Someday Quilts Mystery series In the tradition of Jennifer Chiaverini and Emilie Richards, a debut quilting mystery Nell Fitzgerald is thrilled when she receives a gorgeous handmade quilt in a lover's knot pattern from her grandmother Eleanor as an engagement gift. Her joy is short-lived, however, when her fiancé announces he's... more...

  • Occupational Hazardsby Jonathan Segura

    Simon & Schuster 2008; US$ 12.99

    Bernard Cockburn is a beat reporter for the Omaha Weekly News-Telegraph . His boss has him chasing dead-end stories on real estate and county funding irregularities when he'd rather be working on that handful of neglected exposés in his bottom desk drawer -- or self-medicating in the apartment he shares with an on-again, off-again girlfriend. ... more...

  • North of Montanaby April Smith

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 15.95

    FBI Special Agent Ana Grey debuts in this electrifying thriller marked by psychological acuity and unfaltering suspense. After Ana Grey pulls off “the most amazing arrest of the year,” the squad supervisor—who doesn't like irreverent, tough-minded young women—gives her a reprimand instead of the promotion she deserves. As a test, she is assigned a... more...

  • Vanilla Rideby Joe R. Lansdale

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2009; US$ 16.00

    Hap and Leonard  is now a Sundance TV series starring James Purefoy and Michael Kenneth Williams. Hap Collins and Leonard Pine, the kings of East Texas mischief and mayhem, return in this full-throttle thriller to face off with the Dixie Mafia.   When Leonard is asked to rescue a teenage girl from a lowly drug dealer, he gladly agrees and invites... more...

  • The Nextby Dan Vining

    Penguin Publishing Group 2007; US$ 7.99

    From the author of the innovative thriller The Quick comes the second story featuring Jimmy Miles. He is a man who doesn’t sleep. Perfect for a private investigator. The night belongs to him and to a restless few with secrets of their own—like Lucy, the mysterious woman he’s trailing.   Her connection to Jimmy lies with a strange group called... more...

  • Berlin Noirby Philip Kerr

    Penguin Publishing Group 1994; US$ 15.15

    Now in one volume—the first three novels in Philip Kerr’s  New York Times bestselling historical mystery series starring hard-boiled detective Bernie Gunther... “A Chandleresque knight errant caught in insane historical surroundings. Bernie walks down streets so mean that nobody can stay alive and remain truly clean.”—John Powers,  Fresh Air  (NPR)... more...

  • Criminal Karmaby Steven M. Thomas

    Random House Publishing Group 2009; US$ 25.00

    With Criminal Paradise, his gritty, satirical take on the criminal underworld and the society it preys on, Steven M. Thomas earned comparison to such masters as Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen. Now Thomas has devised a new adventure for his charismatic hero, the small-time crook Robert Rivers, who has dreams of making the big score and the brains... more...