The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Semiotics & Literary Theory

Most popular at the top

  • Romeo and Julietby Robert Smith; Rex Gibson; Richard Andrews; Vicki Wienand

    Cambridge University Press 2014; US$ 9.00

    An improved, larger-format edition of the Cambridge School Shakespeare plays, extensively rewritten, expanded and produced in an attractive new design. more...

  • How Fiction Worksby James Wood

    Random House 2010; US$ 14.09

    In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel , How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of... more...

  • The Cambridge Companion to Utopian Literatureby Gregory Claeys

    Cambridge University Press 2010; US$ 30.00

    Using a combination of historical and thematic approaches, this volume engages with the fascinating and complex genre of utopian literature. more...

  • Voices of Modernityby Richard Bauman; Charles L. Briggs

    Cambridge University Press 2003; US$ 43.00

    This 2003 book discusses how new ways of thinking about language have uncovered previously 'legitimated' linguistic and social inequalities. more...

  • Discipline and Punishby Michel Foucault

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2012; US$ 17.00

    In this brilliant work, the most influential philosopher since Sartre suggests that such vaunted reforms as the abolition of torture and the emergence of the modern penitentiary have merely shifted the focus of punishment from the prisoner's body to his soul. more...

  • Rhetoricby Jennifer Richards

    Taylor and Francis 2007; US$ 26.95

    Rhetoric has shaped our understanding of the nature of language and the purpose of literature for over two millennia. It is of crucial importance in understanding the development of literary history as well as elements of philosophy, politics and culture. The nature and practise of rhetoric was central to Classical, Renaissance and Enlightenment cultures... more...

  • Is Shakespeare Dead?by Mark Twain

    NuVision Publications, LLC 2004; US$ 2.99

    Did Francis Bacon write the works of Shakespear? The Shakespearite knows that Shakespeare wrote Shakespeare's Works; the Baconian knows that Francis Bacon wrote them; the Brontosaurian doesn't really know which of them did it, but is quite composedly and contentedly sure that Shakespeare DIDN'T, and strongly suspects that Bacon DID. more...

  • Computing Actionby Jan Christoph Meister; Marie-Laure Ryan; Alastair Matthews

    De Gruyter 2008; US$ 224.00

    “Computing Action” takes a new approach to the phenomenon of narrated action in literary texts. It begins with a survey of philosophical approaches to the concept of action, ranging from analytical to transcendental and finally constructivist definitions. This leads to the formulation of a new model of action, in which the core definitions... more...

  • Postcolonial Theory and Autobiographyby David Huddart

    Taylor and Francis 2008; US$ 54.95

    Cultural theory has often been criticized for covert Eurocentric and universalist tendencies. Its concepts and ideas are implicitly applicable to everyone, ironing over any individuality or cultural difference. Postcolonial theory has challenged these limitations of cultural theory, and Postcolonial Theory and Autobiography addresses the central... more...

  • De grijze aapby Dirk Sikkel

    Amsterdam University Press 2010; US$ 10.50

    Lang geleden, voordat er mensen bestonden, bleven alle dieren vruchtbaar tot hun dood. De afgelopen vijf miljoen jaar hebben wij ons ontwikkeld tot de enige diersoort met een menopauze. Kennelijk was dit ergens goed voor; de natuur geeft deze onvruchtbare extra tijd van leven niet cadeau. Het nut van de vijftigplusser, en daarmee zijn natuurlijke gedrag,... more...