The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,130,202 members ⚫ 1,348,641 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Political Freedom & Security

Most popular at the top

  • Missing Manby Barry Meier

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2016; US$ 18.90

    In late 2013, Americans were shocked to learn that a former FBI agent turned private investigator who disappeared in Iran in 2007 was there on a mission for the CIA. The missing man, Robert Levinson, appeared in pictures dressed like a Guantánamo prisoner and pleaded in a video for help from the United States. Barry Meier, an award-winning investigative... more...

  • Free Speech: A Very Short Introductionby Nigel Warburton

    OUP Oxford 2009; US$ 7.99

    How important is free speech? Should it be defended at any cost? Or should we set limits on what can and cannot be said? This Very Short Introduction offers a lively and thought-provoking guide to these questions, exploring both the traditional philosophical arguments as well as the practical issues and controversies facing society today. more...

  • Chasing Chaosby Jessica Alexander

    Crown/Archetype 2013; US$ 16.00

    Jessica Alexander arrived in Rwanda in the aftermath of the 1994 genocide as an idealistic intern, eager to contribute to the work of the international humanitarian aid community. But the world that she encountered in the field was dramatically different than anything she could have imagined. It was messy, chaotic, and difficult—but she was hooked.... more...

  • Security Law and Methodsby James Pastor

    Elsevier Science 2006; US$ 78.95

    Security Law and Methods examines suggested security methods designed to diminish or negate the consequence of crime and misconduct, and is an attempt to understand both the legal exposures related to crime and the security methods designed to prevent crime. The clear and concise writing of this groundbreaking work, as well as its insightful analysis... more...

  • Half the Skyby Nicholas D. Kristof; Sheryl WuDunn

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2009; US$ 16.00

    #1 National Bestseller From two of our most fiercely moral voices, a passionate call to arms against our era’s most pervasive human rights violation: the oppression of women and girls in the developing world. With Pulitzer Prize winners Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn as our guides, we undertake an odyssey through Africa and Asia to meet... more...

  • The Innocent Manby John Grisham

    Random House Publishing Group 2010; US$ 9.99

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it’s a book no American can afford to miss.   In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson... more...

  • Little Princesby Conor Grennan

    HarperCollins 2011; US$ 12.99

    “Funny, touching, tragic….A remarkable tale of corruption, child trafficking and civil war in a far away land—and one man’s extraordinary quest to reunite lost Nepalese children with their parents.” —Neil White, author of In the Sanctuary of Outcasts Little Princes is the epic story of Conor Grennan’s battle to save the lost children of Nepal... more...

  • The Quiet Threatby Ronald L. Mendell

    Charles C Thomas 2010; US$ 43.95

    In the years since the first edition, industrial and corporate espionage have not diminished. There has been, however, an increase in awareness about the issues. There are more graduate-level programs in business and in security that are offering courses and training on intelligence gathering in the commercial sector. Training in the protection of... more...

  • India and Pakistanby Stanley Wolpert

    University of California Press 2010; US$ 22.95

    Beginning in 1947, when "India and Pakistan were born to conflict," renowned India scholar Stanley Wolpert provides an authoritative, accessible primer on what is potentially the world's most dangerous crisis. He concisely distills sixty-three years of complex history, tracing the roots of the relationship between these two antagonists, explaining... more...

  • The Day the World Came to Townby Jim DeFede

    HarperCollins 2011; US$ 11.99

    Perfect for fans of the hit Broadway musical Come from Away   When 38 jetliners bound for the United States were forced to land at Gander International Airport in Canada by the closing of U.S. airspace on September 11, the population of this small town on Newfoundland Island swelled from 10,300 to nearly 17,000. The citizens of Gander met the... more...