The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,003,177 members ⚫ 1,317,278 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Special Groups

Most popular at the top

  • Amazing Graceby Jonathan Kozol

    Crown/Archetype 2012; US$ 16.00

    The author of Savage Inequalities, a New York Times best-seller, and Rachel and Her Children, winner of the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award, tells the stories of a handful of children who have--through the love and support of their families and dedicated community leaders--not yet lost their battle with the perils of life in America's most hopeless,... more...

  • Savage Inequalitiesby Jonathan Kozol

    Crown/Archetype 2012; US$ 16.00

    For two years, beginning in 1988, Jonathan Kozol visited schools in neighborhoods across the country, from Illinois to Washington D.C., and from New York to San Antonio. He spoke with teachers, principals, superintendents, and, most important, children. What he found was devastating. Not only were schools for rich and poor blatantly unequal, the... more...

  • Cultures and Globalizationby Helmut K Anheier; Yudhishthir Raj Isar

    SAGE Publications 2012; US$ 58.00

    The fifth volume in the cutting edge Cultures and Globalization Series , this volume explores a city's cultural dynamics and its impact on policy including alternative economies, creativity, migration, diversity, sustainability, education and urban planning. more...

  • Florence Graceby Tracy Rees

    Quercus 2016; US$ 9.99

    'Possibly the most wonderful book I've ever read. A complete joy' Amazon reviewer . The stunning new novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller Amy Snow . Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Island of Secrets. Florrie Buckley is an orphan, living on the wind-blasted moors of Cornwall. It's a hard existence... more...

  • The Red Beastby Haitham Al-Ghani; Kay Al-Ghani

    Jessica Kingsley Publishers 2008; US$ 21.95

    This vibrant fully illustrated children's storybook is written for children aged 5+, and is an accessible, fun way to talk about anger, with useful tips about how to 'tame the red beast' and guidance for parents on how anger affects children with Asperger's Syndrome. more...

  • North American Indians: A Very Short Introductionby Theda Perdue; Michael D. Green

    Oxford University Press 2010; US$ 7.99

    This book begins with the emergence of peoples in North America and traces their stories to the beginning of the early twentieth-first century. The narrative rests on the premise that indigenous nations retain sovereign rights, and it explores the ways in which contests over those rights shaped their histories. more...

  • War and Genocideby Doris L. Bergen

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2009; US$ 25.99

    In examining one of the defining events of the twentieth century, Doris L. Bergen situates the Holocaust in its historical, political, social, cultural, and military contexts. Unlike many other treatments of the Holocaust, the revised, second edition of War and Genocide discusses not only the persecution of the Jews, but also other segments of... more...

  • Watching Hannahby Barry Reay

    Reaktion Books 2004; US$ 35.00

    Arthur Munby (1828–1910) was a Victorian gentleman from a respected family of Yorkshire lawyers. He left behind diaries that record his life-long obsession with working-class Victorian women, whom he interviewed, photographed and wrote about. This obsession led to his relationship with, and eventual secret marriage to, his maidservant Hannah Cullwick.Working... more...

  • Doing the Best I Canby Kathryn Edin; Timothy J. Nelson

    University of California Press 2013; US$ 29.95

    Across the political spectrum, unwed fatherhood is denounced as one of the leading social problems of today. Doing the Best I Can is a strikingly rich, paradigm-shifting look at fatherhood among inner-city men often dismissed as "deadbeat dads." Kathryn Edin and Timothy J. Nelson examine how couples in challenging straits come together and get pregnant... more...

  • Comparative Studies of Social and Political Elitesby

    Emerald Group Publishing Limited 2006; US$ 123.99

    How can the existence of elites be compatible with democratic governance? Any democratic society is inevitably confronted by this basic question. This book reviews existing research on elites and their interactions with those around them. It looks at how the recruitment to elites changes in the long run according to class and gender. more...