The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,011,120 members ⚫ 1,318,789 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Legal History

Most popular at the top

  • Escaping Salemby Richard Godbeer

    Oxford University Press 2004; US$ 12.95

    The Salem witch hunt of 1692 is among the most infamous events in early American history; however, it was not the only such episode to occur in New England that year. Escaping Salem reconstructs the "other witch hunt" of 1692 that took place in Stamford, Connecticut. Concise and accessible, the book takes students on a revealing journey into the... more...

  • Law 101by Jay Feinman

    Oxford University Press 2014; US$ 18.99

    The first three editions of the best-selling Law 101 provided readers with a vividly written and indispensable portrait of our nation's legal system. Now, in this fourth edition, Jay Feinman offers a fully updated survey of American law that incorporates fresh material on recent Supreme Court cases, the latest developments in Internet law, and sensational... more...

  • The Innocent Manby John Grisham

    Random House Publishing Group 2010; US$ 9.99

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it’s a book no American can afford to miss.   In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson... more...

  • The Buffalo Creek Disasterby Gerald M. Stern

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 14.95

    One Saturday morning in February 1972, an impoundment dam owned by the Pittston Coal Company burst, sending a 130 million gallon, 25 foot tidal wave of water, sludge, and debris crashing into southern West Virginia's Buffalo Creek hollow. It was one of the deadliest floods in U.S. history. 125 people were killed instantly, more than 1,000 were injured,... more...

  • Hugo Grotius Mare Liberum 1609-2009by Robert Feenstra; Jeroen Vervliet

    BRILL 2009; US$ 66.00

    Critical edition combined with a revised English translation of Hugo Grotius Mare liberum, also providing an insight into the circumstances in which Hugo Grotius wrote this work. more...

  • Word and Power in Mediaeval Bulgariaby Ivan Biliarsky

    BRILL 2011; US$ 241.00

    The book presents an investigation into the legal language of mediaeval Bulgaria, seen in its own cultural context: the Byzantine Commonwealth. Law and Language are cultural phenomena and their interdependence is closely linked to their civilisation in which they are embedded. more...

  • Llawysgrif Pomffredby Sara Elin Roberts

    BRILL 2011; US$ 185.00

    Llawysgrif Pomffred presents for the first time an edition of an overlooked Welsh law manuscript, Peniarth 259B. This is an important and groundbreaking edition which will contribute to our understanding of the relationship and development of the Welsh law texts. The manuscript contains a law text of the Cyfnerth redaction, seen to be the earliest... more...

  • Law, Society, and Historyby Robert W. Gordon; Morton J. Horwitz

    Cambridge University Press 2011; US$ 33.00

    This book assembles essays on legal sociology and legal history by a group of distinguished scholars who have been influenced by Lawrence M. Friedman. more...

  • Schwabenspiegel-Forschung im Donaugebietby Elemér Balogh

    De Gruyter 2014; US$ 140.00

    The volume includes contributions presented at two academic conferences organized by the Department of European Legal History at the University of Szeged in Hungary. The principal subjects are medieval German books of law and their impact on legal life in Hungary. The specific impetus for the conferences was the publication in Hungarian translation... more...

  • America on Trialby Alan M. Dershowitz

    Grand Central Publishing 2004; US$ 26.00

    The renowned attorney and bestselling author reveals how notable trials throughout our history have helped to shape our nation. Offering insights into the human condition, these trials serve as a historical document, chronicling the struggles and passions of their time. more...