The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,041,502 members ⚫ 1,330,841 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Navies: Organization, distribution, naval situation

Most popular at the top

  • Indian Naval Strategy in the Twenty-first Centuryby James R. Holmes; Andrew C. Winner; Toshi Yoshihara

    Taylor and Francis 2009; US$ 54.95

    This is the first academic study of India's emerging maritime strategy, and offers a systematic analysis of the interplay between Western military thought and Indian maritime traditions. By a quirk of historical fate, Europe embarked on its Age of Discovery just as the main Asian powers were renouncing the sea, ushering in centuries of Western dominance.... more...

  • Pirate Stateby Peter Eichstaedt

    Chicago Review Press 2010; US$ 16.99

    Providing a timely and never-before-seen perspective on the ever-increasing menace of Somali pirates, this account shows how the cargo ship and oil tanker hijackings and ransoms in the Gulf of Aden and the Indian Ocean have turned one of the world’s busiest shipping lanes into one of the most dangerous. By way of one-on-one interviews with pirates,... more...

  • Twenty-First Century Seapowerby Peter Dutton; Robert Ross; Øystein Tunsjø

    Taylor and Francis 2013; US$ 54.95

    This book offers an assessment of the naval policies of emerging naval powers, and the implications for maritime security relations and the global maritime order. Since the end of the Cold War, China, Japan, India and Russia have begun to challenge the status quo with the acquisition of advanced naval capabilities. The emergence of rising naval... more...

  • US Marine Corps Handbook 1941-1945by George Forty

    The History Press 2006; US$ 16.49

    US Marine Corps Handbook 1941-45 more...

  • Island of Shameby David Vine

    Princeton University Press 2011; US$ 28.95 US$ 26.34

    The American military base on the island of Diego Garcia is one of the most strategically important and secretive U.S. military installations outside the United States. Located near the remote center of the Indian Ocean and accessible only by military transport, the little-known base has been instrumental in American military operations from the Cold... more...

  • The Men of the Mary Roseby A J Stirland

    The History Press 2005; US$ 12.49

    A.J. Stirland uses archaeological and skeletal evidence to give the reader a welcome insight into the lives and soldiers of the Mary Rose, from their ages and height to their health, diet and physical condition. more...

  • The Navy of the Nuclear Age, 1947–2007by Paul Silverstone

    Taylor and Francis 2011; US$ 47.95

    The Navy of the Nuclear Age, 1947-2007 , the fifth volume in the monumental U.S. Navy Warship series, presents an all-inclusive compendium of the ships that served in the U.S. Navy from the Cold War up through the present day. Featuring radical new developments in warships such as nuclear-powered submarines and carriers equipped with ballistic missiles,... more...

  • From the Dardanelles to Oranby Arthur Marder

    Seaforth Publishing 2015; US$ 20.97

    This collection of thought-provoking essays by arguably the 20th century's greatest naval historian was first published in 1974, but their continuing relevance fully justifies this reprint. It opens with a stimulating reappraisal of the naval attack on the Dardanelles, the success of which would have made the disastrous Gallipoli land campaign that... more...

  • Shadow Diversby Robert Kurson

    Random House Publishing Group 2004; US$ 15.15

    In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves. For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves... more...

  • The Royal Navy and Maritime Power in the Twentieth Centuryby Ian Speller

    Taylor and Francis 2004; US$ 49.95

    This book adopts an innovative new approach to examine the role of maritime power and the utility of navies. It uses a number of case studies based upon key Royal Navy operations in the twentieth century to draw out enduring principles about maritime power and to examine the strengths and limitations of maritime forces as instruments of national policy.... more...