The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,041,502 members ⚫ 1,330,841 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Sociology of Religion

Most popular at the top

  • Escaping Salemby Richard Godbeer

    Oxford University Press 2004; US$ 12.95

    The Salem witch hunt of 1692 is among the most infamous events in early American history; however, it was not the only such episode to occur in New England that year. Escaping Salem reconstructs the "other witch hunt" of 1692 that took place in Stamford, Connecticut. Concise and accessible, the book takes students on a revealing journey into the... more...

  • The Righteous Mindby Jonathan Haidt

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2012; US$ 16.95

    This well-researched examination of human moral impulses will appeal to liberals and conservatives alike following the 2016 presidential campaign and election.   As America descends deeper into polarization and paralysis, social psychologist Jonathan Haidt   has done the seemingly impossible—challenged conventional thinking about morality, politics,... more...

  • Sacred Mattersby Gary Laderman

    New Press, The 2009; US$ 17.95

    Widely praised in hardcover as a fascinating and important addition to religious and cultural studies, Sacred Matters reveals the remarkable ways that religious practices permeate American cultural life. In a country where references to God are as normal as proclaiming love of country, support for the military, or security for the nation’s children,... more...

  • Bad Religionby Ross Douthat

    Free Press 2012; US$ 11.99

    As the youngest-ever op-ed columnist for the New York Times , Ross Douthat has emerged as one of the most provocative and influential voices of his generation. In Bad Religion he offers a masterful and hard-hitting account of how American Christianity has gone off the rails—and why it threatens to take American society with it. Writing for an... more...

  • Unorthodoxby Deborah Feldman

    Simon & Schuster 2012; US$ 11.99

    The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape , featuring a new epilogue by the author. As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced... more...

  • Beyond Fundamentalismby Reza Aslan

    Random House Publishing Group 2010; US$ 10.67

    “A very persuasive argument for the best way to counter jihadism” ( The Washington Post ) from the bestselling author of  Zealot  and host of  Believer The wars in the Middle East have become religious wars in which God is believed to be directly engaged on behalf of one side against the other. The hijackers who attacked America on September 11,... more...

  • A Rumor of Angelsby Peter L. Berger

    Open Road Media 2011; US$ 17.99

    Influential scholar Peter L. Berger reveals five signs that point to the supernatural and its place in a modern secular society   Acclaimed scholar and sociologist Peter L. Berger examines religion in twentieth-century Western society, exploring the social nature of knowledge and its effect on religious belief. Using five signs evident in ordinary... more...

  • The Elementary Forms of the Religious Lifeby Émile Durkheim; Joseph Ward Swain

    Dover Publications 2012; US$ 12.95

    A founder of modern sociology examines animism, naturism, totemism, myth, and ritual in this 1912 classic, which traces the source of religion and morality to a collective consciousness. more...

  • Sociology of Religionby Kevin J. Christiano; Jr. William H. Swatos; Peter Kivisto

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2015; US$ 63.50

    This third edition introduces students to key principles in the sociology of religion—from history and theory to contemporary debates. This edition features new material on the relationships of religion to race and ethnicity, and to gender and sexuality, the perceived rise of both fundamentalism and secularism, global religion, and more. more...

  • The Greening of Protestant Thoughtby Robert Booth Fowler

    The University of North Carolina Press 2000; US$ 29.99

    The Greening of Protestant Thought traces the increasing influence of environmentalism on American Protestantism since the first Earth Day, which took place in 1970. Robert Booth Fowler explores the extent to which ecological concerns permeate Protestant thought and examines contemporary controversies within and between mainline and fundamentalist... more...