The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,034,055 members ⚫ 1,328,001 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Civil War Period (1850-1877)

Most popular at the top

  • When Germs Travelby Howard Markel

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2009; US$ 16.00

    The struggle against deadly microbes is endless. Diseases that have plagued human beings since ancient times still exist, new maladies like SARS make their way into the headlines, we are faced with vaccine shortages, and the threat of germ warfare has reemerged as a worldwide threat. In this riveting account, medical historian Howard Markel takes... more...

  • The Terror Dreamby Susan Faludi

    Henry Holt and Co. 2007; US$ 6.79

    From the Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist and bestselling author of Backlash —an unflinching dissection of the mind of America after 9/11 In this most original examination of America's post-9/11 culture, Susan Faludi shines a light on the country's psychological response to the attacks on that terrible day. Turning her acute observational powers... more...

  • The French Revolution, 1789-1799by Peter McPhee

    OUP Oxford 2001; US$ 27.95

    In this reliable and succinct introduction to the French Revolution, Peter McPhee tackles the questions which are central to an understanding of this crucial period of French history. Why was there a revolution in France in 1789? Was France fundamentally changed as a result of it? And what effects did it have on everyday life? As well as providing... more...

  • Houdini, Tarzan, and the Perfect Manby John F. Kasson

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2002; US$ 12.60

    A remarkable new work from one of our premier historians In his exciting new book, John F. Kasson examines the signs of crisis in American life a century ago, signs that new forces of modernity were affecting men's sense of who and what they really were. When the Prussian-born Eugene Sandow, an international vaudeville star and bodybuilder, toured... more...

  • Ministers and Mastersby Charity R. Carney

    LSU Press 2011; US$ 22.95

    In Ministers and Masters Charity R. Carney presents a thorough account of how Methodist preachers constructed their own concept of masculinity within – and at times in defiance of – the constraints of southern honor culture of the early nineteenth century. By focusing on this unique subgroup of southern men, the book explores often-debated concepts... more...

  • The Global Cold Warby Odd Arne Westad

    Cambridge University Press 2007; US$ 23.00

    Prize-winning study of the global conflict waged during the Cold War and its legacy today. more...

  • Amy Snowby Tracy Rees

    Quercus 2015; US$ 9.99

    THE RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER, perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Island of Secrets . 'I couldn't put this book down. A real mystery' Amazon reviewer. When Amy is abandoned on a bank of snow as a baby, she is taken in at nearby Hatville Court. The masters and servants of the grand estate prove cold and unwelcoming and... more...

  • American History: A Very Short Introductionby Paul S. Boyer

    Oxford University Press 2012; US$ 7.99

    This volume in Oxford's A Very Short Introduction series offers a concise, readable narrative of the vast span of American history, from the earliest human migrations to the early twenty-first century when the United States loomed as a global power and comprised a complex multi-cultural society of more than 300 million people. The narrative is organized... more...

  • Mexicanos, Second Editionby Manuel G. Gonzales

    Indiana University Press 2009; US$ 17.99

    Newly revised and updated, Mexicanos tells the rich and vibrant story of Mexicans in the United States. Emerging from the ruins of Aztec civilization and from centuries of Spanish contact with indigenous people, Mexican culture followed the Spanish colonial frontier northward and put its distinctive mark on what became the southwestern United States.... more...

  • Band of Brothersby Stephen E. Ambrose

    Simon & Schuster 2001; US$ 12.99

    Stephen E. Ambrose’s iconic New York Times bestseller about the ordinary men who became the World War II’s most extraordinary soldiers: Easy Company, 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment, 101st Airborne Division, US Army. They came together, citizen soldiers, in the summer of 1942, drawn to Airborne by the $50 monthly bonus and a desire to be better... more...