The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,385,058 members ⚫ 1,459,539 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Penology

Most popular at the top

  • Just Mercyby Bryan Stevenson

    Random House Publishing Group 2014; US$ 11.65

    #1  NEW YORK TIMES  BESTSELLER •  A powerful true story about the potential for mercy to redeem us, and a clarion call to fix our broken system of justice—from one of the most brilliant and influential lawyers of our time SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING MICHAEL B. JORDAN AND JAMIE FOXX Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The... more...

  • Environmental Correctionsby Lacey Schaefer; Francis T. Cullen; John E. Eck

    SAGE Publications 2015; US$ 42.00

    A new paradigm for supervising offenders in the community   Environmental Corrections is an innovative guide filled with rich insights and strategies for probation and parole officers to effectively integrate offenders back into the community and reduce recidivism. Authors Lacey Schaefer, Francis T. Cullen, and John E. Eck move beyond... more...

  • A Peacemaking Approach to Criminologyby Louis J. Gesualdi

    UPA 2013; US$ 29.50

    A peacemaking approach to criminology is a humane, nonviolent, and scientific approach to the treatment of crime and the offender. This collection of twenty-two essays provides a comprehensive introduction to a peacemaking approach to criminology. more...

  • Writing My Wrongsby Shaka Senghor

    The Crown Publishing Group 2016; US$ 15.00

    New York Times  bestseller from a member of Oprah's SuperSoul 100.   An unforgettable memoir of redemption and second chances amidst America's mass incarceration epidemic.  Shaka Senghor was raised in a middle class neighborhood on Detroit’s east side during the height of the 1980s crack epidemic. An honor roll student and a natural leader,... more...

  • The Innocent Manby John Grisham

    Random House Publishing Group 2010; US$ 9.99

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it’s a book no American can afford to miss.   In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson... more...

  • Makes Me Wanna Hollerby Nathan McCall

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 15.95

    One of our most visceral and important memoirs on race in America, this is the story of Nathan McCall, who began life as a smart kid in a close, protective family in a black working-class neighborhood. Yet by the age of fifteen, McCall was packing a gun and embarking on a criminal career that five years later would land him in prison for armed robbery.... more...

  • Disposable Youthby Ed.D. James C. Wilson

    SBPRA 2014; US$ 2.99

    Disposable Youth has the power to change America. Seventy percent of the 2.4 million prisoners in America today are high school dropouts. Half of all African American and Hispanic urban high school students drop out. Forty percent of all urban high school students drop out. This continuum of dropping out of high school and into crime and then prison... more...

  • Changing the Guardby Alexander Tabarrok; Charles H. Logan

    Independent Institute 2002; US$ 8.99

    When prison privatization began in the United States in the early 1980s, many policy analysts claimed that the result would be higher costs, declining quality, and an erosion of state authority. Bringing together five of the leading researchers of prison privatization and criminology, this authoritative survey addresses the economic as well as the... more...

  • The Punishment Responseby Graeme Newman

    Taylor and Francis 2017; US$ 48.51

    Punishment occupies a central place in our lives and attitudes. We suffer a profound ambivalence about its moral consequences. Persons who have been punished or are liable to be punished have long objected to the legitimacy of punishment. We are all objects of punishment, yet we are also its users. Our ambivalence is so profound that not only do we... more...

  • Prisoners in Prison Societiesby Ulla Bondeson

    Taylor and Francis 2017; US$ 48.51

    Prisoners in Prison Societies is a study of criminal career patterns over time, demonstrating specifically how and in what ways imprisonment has a positive correlation with later recidivism. The book combines original research and a ten-year follow-up study of Swedish inmates, surveying their attitudes on everything from political ideology to prison... more...