The Leading eBooks Store Online

4,173,809 members ⚫ 1,357,844 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Penology

Most popular at the top

  • Just Mercyby Bryan Stevenson

    Random House Publishing Group 2014; US$ 11.65

    #1  New York Times Bestseller | Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times • The Washington Post • The Boston Globe • The Seattle Times • Esquire • Time   Winner of the Carnegie Medal for Nonfiction | Winner of the NAACP Image Award for Nonfiction | Winner of a Books for a Better Life Award | Finalist for the Los Angeles... more...

  • Crime and Punishment in Americaby Elliott Currie

    Picador 2013; US$ 12.60

    "Earnest, free of jargon, lucid…This is a book that ought to be read by anyone concerned about crime and punishment in America."—The Washington Post Book World A Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize When Crime and Punishment in America was first published in 1998, the national incarceration rate had doubled in just over a decade, and yet... more...

  • Community Correctionsby Robert D. Hanser

    SAGE Publications 2013; US$ 84.00

    Offering comprehensive coverage with an applied, practical perspective, Community Corrections, Second Edition covers all the major topics in the field while emphasizing reintegration and community partnerships and focusing strongly on assessment, risk prediction, and classification. Author Robert D. Hanser draws on his expertise with offender treatment... more...

  • The Innocent Manby John Grisham

    Random House Publishing Group 2010; US$ 9.99

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it’s a book no American can afford to miss.   In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson... more...

  • Class, Race, Gender, and Crimeby Gregg Barak; Paul Leighton; Allison Cotton

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2014; US$ 51.00

    The fourth edition of this powerful textbook Class, Race, Gender, and Crime introduces students to crime and the criminal justice system through the lens of class, race, gender, and their intersection. Maintaining the overall structure of the third edition, the fourth edition incorporates new examples, current data, and recent theoretical developments... more...

  • Disposable Youthby Ed.D. James C. Wilson

    SBPRA 2014; US$ 2.99

    Disposable Youth has the power to change America. Seventy percent of the 2.4 million prisoners in America today are high school dropouts. Half of all African American and Hispanic urban high school students drop out. Forty percent of all urban high school students drop out. This continuum of dropping out of high school and into crime and then prison... more...

  • Changing the Guardby Alexander Tabarrok; Charles H. Logan

    Independent Institute 2002; US$ 8.99

    When prison privatization began in the United States in the early 1980s, many policy analysts claimed that the result would be higher costs, declining quality, and an erosion of state authority. Bringing together five of the leading researchers of prison privatization and criminology, this authoritative survey addresses the economic as well as the... more...

  • The Punishment Responseby Graeme Newman

    Taylor and Francis 2017; US$ 44.95

    Punishment occupies a central place in our lives and attitudes. We suffer a profound ambivalence about its moral consequences. Persons who have been punished or are liable to be punished have long objected to the legitimacy of punishment. We are all objects of punishment, yet we are also its users. Our ambivalence is so profound that not only do we... more...

  • Prisoners in Prison Societiesby Ulla Bondeson

    Taylor and Francis 2017; US$ 44.95

    Prisoners in Prison Societies is a study of criminal career patterns over time, demonstrating specifically how and in what ways imprisonment has a positive correlation with later recidivism. The book combines original research and a ten-year follow-up study of Swedish inmates, surveying their attitudes on everything from political ideology to prison... more...

  • The Myth of Prison Rapeby Mark S. Fleisher; Jessie L. Krienert

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2009; US$ 34.00

    The Myth of Prison Rape provides a nuanced glimpse into the complex sexual dynamics of the American prison. Drawing on results from the most comprehensive study of inmate sexuality to date, the authors analyze the intricacies of sexuality and sexual violence in daily inmate life. Dynamic case studies and interview excerpts enliven this cultural study... more...